Breakers Compatible With Panel--HD Says... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2011, 05:53 PM   #1
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 121

breakers compatible with panel--HD says...

I inherited a breaker panel from an electrician who has passed away (not by way of electricity).

It's a Challenger 200A panell with a few breakers. Some are Challenger; some are not.

Someone from HD in the electrical department told me that Siemens purchased a number of smaller companies that used to make breakers and that breakers from its variously owned companies are now compatible and interchangeable, including:

Crouse Hinds

HD carries a variety of brands of breakers. The assistant suggested that I buy the least expensive of the compatible brands when I need additional breakers.

My breakers are identified as follows:

60A, 30A --- Siemens --- Type QP
40A, 30A --- E82615 --- Type MP-T
20A --- Cutler-Hammer --- Type BR220 --- Type C220

It is not always clear from Internet searches who makes what and what is compatible with what. Is there a way to determine
(a) whether my breakers are compatible with my Challenger panel and
(b) what non-Challenger breaker brands are compatible with my panel?

Thanks muchly,


Daneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:27 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,235
Rewards Points: 624

My advice would be to forget this panel and get a panel that is currently in production like a Square D QO or the classic Cutler-Hammer brown line instead of a panel where you will have trouble finding parts for.


Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Daneel (06-09-2011)
Old 06-09-2011, 09:01 PM   #3
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 121

breaker / panel compatibility


I hope there is more than one answer to my situation. The electrician installed this panel. There are three active circuits and the panel mates with a couple of conduits and the meter base on the other side of the wall. Most of the breakers are just there, not being used. My question is forward looking to when additional circuits need to be connected.

Is it quite difficult to identify what breakers are compatible?

Daneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:11 PM   #4
DIY staff

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 2,174

You failed to mention that the panel has already been installed-

--Inherited made it sound like it was something you pulled out of his garden shed.
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:56 PM   #5
a7ecorsair's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000

Originally Posted by Daneel View Post
Is it quite difficult to identify what breakers are compatible?

One of the things in electrical wiring you should know is that things are Labeled and Listed for use. In your case to add breakers the breaker must have a label stating it is approved by the manufacture for use in your panel. The next problem will be if you are adding circuits you may be required to use AFCI breaker. So now the AFCI would have to be L&L for your panel.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:12 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,700
Rewards Points: 1,750

That is the same panel as a Cutler-Hammer BR series, Bryant, Westinghouse, Murray, and others.
You'll be able to find any breaker you want until the end of time.

ANY Cutler-Hammer BR series will work, as well as any "BR" classified breaker.
Siemens, GE (1"), SqD HOM, will all fit, but would be a "technical" violation. NOTHING bad would ever come from using them if you absolutely had to.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:31 PM   #7
yeah, right
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75

Below is a compatibility matrix that came out of a UL letter.
Attached Thumbnails
breakers compatible with panel--HD says...-compat.jpg  


Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compatible circuit breakers ZOE18K Electrical 1 04-19-2011 11:33 AM
Twin Breakers 15A single pole Bolt-on type for Sylvania Panel Antoine S Electrical 14 04-17-2011 08:10 PM
All breakers in panel trip? 3phase Electrical 16 02-11-2011 10:57 PM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-20-2009 11:09 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1