Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2007, 09:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


my 15 amp breaker is connected to 3 bedrooms with a total of 12 outlets & three ceiling fans. it trips when hair dryers , hair straighteners ect. are being used. can i change the 15 amp breaker to a 20 amp breaker will this solve the problem.

lightone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:23 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


Ummmmm, there is NO problem to be fixed. If a breaker trips because too much is being used it is simply doing it's job.

NO, you cannot simply replace the breaker. That is what folks used to do with old fuse boxes and houses burned down.

Either diversify the loads to other circuits or run new circuits.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


so the 3 bedrooms would have to be split up to another circuit. thank you, that's what i thought, it could start a fire.
lightone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:33 PM   #4
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,316
Rewards Points: 538
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


You can't change the breaker without changing the wiring too.

I may be assuming too much, but I would assume that circuit is 14 GA conductors (as it would be silly to use 12 GA and only put a 15A breaker on it).

If you can prove otherwise, then go for it. But either way, for a 20A breaker you need 12 GA conductors.


EDIT: took too long typing..lol
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


also i was told to look at the breaker to see if there is 2 black wires connected to it. if there is disconnect them & put a 2 pole 15 amp breaker in. that will do the job. i checked it there is only 1 black connected to it
lightone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:36 PM   #6
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,316
Rewards Points: 538
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


Doesn't apply to you since you only have one conductor, but:

You can't just go making multi-wire branch circuits without checking what you're getting into first. There are several requirements that have to be met in a MWBC.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:40 PM   #7
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 500
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


Quote:
Originally Posted by lightone View Post
also i was told to look at the breaker to see if there is 2 black wires connected to it. if there is disconnect them & put a 2 pole 15 amp breaker in. that will do the job. i checked it there is only 1 black connected to it
There should not be two black wires ( or any color) under the screw on any breaker in the panel, it is illegal and a fire hazard .
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:47 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


so is there a fix for it or just leave it be.i'm not playing with it just wanted to get some input on it. i'll get an electrican to do it.
lightone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:56 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


one more question do breaker go bad or need to be replaced after a certian amount of time. house is almost 30 years old.

THANKS FOR THE HELP FELLAS
lightone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 10:35 PM   #10
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,316
Rewards Points: 538
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


Quote:
There should not be two black wires ( or any color) under the screw on any breaker in the panel, it is illegal and a fire hazard .
What you said is exactly right but some breakers have two screws or two sides to the clamp.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 10:39 PM   #11
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,316
Rewards Points: 538
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


Quote:
so is there a fix for it or just leave it be.
There's a fix for it. Splitting the circuit into 2 or more circuits...

or

Quit using the hair dryers and such in the bedroom.

As far as breakers going bad...I guess anything's possible, but that's unlikely the cause of your "problem" (which isn't really a problem)
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 11:20 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

breaker trips when too much is used


Quote:
Originally Posted by troubleseeker View Post
There should not be two black wires ( or any color) under the screw on any breaker in the panel, it is illegal and a fire hazard .
I really have to clarify this.
Two wires on a breaker is usually not legal, and is rarely, if ever, a "fire hazard".

Some breaker are designed to accept two wires as jproffer stated, and I am curious as to how it could be a fire hazard.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 05:31 PM
Heat Pump compressor trips circuit breaker joejean HVAC 3 08-28-2006 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.