Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-08-2011, 06:36 PM   #1

Share |

Breaker tripping without load after heavy rain

Think I might know the first place to look to possibly fix this, but I'm an electrical novice so I figured I ought to get some opinions before I do anything.

I live in NJ, and between Irene and Lee we've been getting dumped on with rain lately. I've been in my house over 2 years without any electrical issues, so I think it's more than a coincidence that after last night's heavy rain all of a sudden a breaker issue popped up.

I have a breaker that won't stay on, and it controls the garage lights and outlets (not the door), a bedroom above the garage (lights and outlets), and the bathroom next to the bedroom (lights and outlets). Outside of the garage there's a motion light over the driveway, also on this same breaker.

So of course my guess is that after the heavy rain, maybe that outside motion light isn't sealed up as tight as I thought, some water got in and it's tripping the breaker. It's an old light and needs to be replaced anyway, so I figure that's where I'll start.

But again, being an electrical novice, I'm also wondering if by chance I'm looking in the wrong direction. Any other opinions on this? Should I be looking elsewhere for a possible problem?

mikemcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 07:01 PM   #2

That would be a good place to start. Has anything else changed on the circuit? Any new devices added? heater? AC?
Does it trip instantly or does it take a some time? How much time?

Old 09-08-2011, 07:11 PM   #3

Nothing has changed, it's the same old stuff on the circuit. It trips instantly, usually. I tried resetting it a few times and sometimes it would stay on for a minute, but most times it immediately flipped back off.
Old 09-08-2011, 07:30 PM   #4
bpm