Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2010, 12:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Breaker Tripping


I have this small issue. I have a 15 amp breaker with a reset button. The circuit has 2 receptacles (doubble plugs) and 1 light. I have a garage door opener attached to one of the plugs and a central vac unit attached to another. Here is my dilemma.

When ever I try to use a batter charger of any kind on any of the plugins associated with the breaker, it trips the breaker after about 10-20 seconds. Nothing else trips the breaker. I can run the garage door opener, central vac and a powertool at the same time with no trip. As soon as I try to charge my marine battery or a battery for a power tool, it trips. I have tried using the charger/s on their own but still trips. Here is the thing, the marine battery charger has 3 settings (trickle, med, fast charging modes) When I use the trickle charge mode, the breaker doesn't trip. any other mode trips the breaker. I can run an extension from another plug in my house and have no issues with either battery charger.

Is my fuse too small for the circuit? Is the fuse faulty? Any other possibilities would be helpfull. How hard is it to change a circuit breaker? should I use a breaker with a reset button or just use a regular 15 amp breaker. Should I replace it with a 20 amp breaker?

Soooo many questions
thanks
Jeridmar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 12:19 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Breaker Tripping


Is this circuit breaker with the reset button in you main electrical panel? Are you sure it isn't a GFCI?
Your battery charger should have label stating how many amps it draws, what does it read?
Circuit breakers (or fuses) are sized to protect the wiring in the house. If the wire is 14 gauge, it cannot have more than a 15 amp breaker. 12 gauge wire can be connected to a 20 amp breaker. This means all wire on that circuit.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 12:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Breaker Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeridmar6 View Post
a 15 amp breaker with a reset button.

a batter charger of any kind on any of the plugins associated with the breaker, it trips the breaker after about 10-20 seconds.
Depending on the breaker trip curve, this could be a 30 A draw, if the breaker is not defective.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 02:04 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Is this circuit breaker with the reset button in you main electrical panel? Are you sure it isn't a GFCI?
Your battery charger should have label stating how many amps it draws, what does it read?
Circuit breakers (or fuses) are sized to protect the wiring in the house. If the wire is 14 gauge, it cannot have more than a 15 amp breaker. 12 gauge wire can be connected to a 20 amp breaker. This means all wire on that circuit.
No, not sure but it is a small fuse with an orange reset button. The input amps are 2 amps and the output is 2.2 amps.
Jeridmar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 03:32 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Breaker Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeridmar6 View Post
No, not sure but it is a small fuse with an orange reset button. The input amps are 2 amps and the output is 2.2 amps.
in the original post you said it was a breaker....second post a fuse. which one is it? If it's a gfci breaker then i would think it would trip with a battery charger plugged in. if it's a fuse with a reset button built in then the problem probably lies with the battery charger.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:29 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
in the original post you said it was a breaker....second post a fuse. which one is it? If it's a gfci breaker then i would think it would trip with a battery charger plugged in. if it's a fuse with a reset button built in then the problem probably lies with the battery charger.

Sorry, It is a breaker..... How can I tell if it is a gfci breaker? This breaker has an orange reset button and it looks like a regualar breaker only with an orange reset button and it has a "15" on the switch part of it. Is it easy to change?
Jeridmar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Breaker Tripping


Where are you located ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 08:19 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker Tripping


Profile changed... Ontario Canada
Jeridmar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 03:51 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Breaker Tripping


Sounds like the battery charger is doing something your GFI doesn't like. Try plugging the charger into a different circuit...
sks52587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 04:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Breaker Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by sks52587 View Post
Sounds like the battery charger is doing something your GFI doesn't like. Try plugging the charger into a different circuit...
If it has a ground pin the OP can measure the current in the ground lead. More than 2 mA or so will trip a GFCI.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 05:32 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Breaker Tripping


when you plug whatever item is tripping the breaker into some other circuit and it works just fine, is the breaker for that other circuit also a 15 amp breaker and is it a GFCI or AFCI breaker?

Quote:
This breaker has an orange reset button and it looks like a regualar breaker only with an orange reset button
orange "reset" button? Sounds like the test button for a GFCI or AFCI breaker. are you sure it doesn't say "press to test" or "test" near the orange button?

what is the brand of breaker in question?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:04 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker Tripping


Hello, the orange button says "push to test". There is no name on the breaker. I am able to put BOTH battery chargers in question on any other cirucit in the house without a trip. These battery chargers are 1-Marine Batter Charger (12 V) similar to a car battery, in fact it can charge regular, deep cycle and Gell batteries of the 12 v automobile style. The other type is an 18V Dewalt Drill battery charger. This breaker is in the main breaker panel. I can put any other electrical item on this circuit without a trip. Not sure but even an automobile block heater (here in Canada it gets real cold) has no issues with this system.

Last edited by Jeridmar6; 07-09-2010 at 10:06 PM.
Jeridmar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:14 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Breaker Tripping


Ok, since it says "push to test" it is either an AFCI breaker or a GFCI breaker. It should state on the breaker. Also, the breakers should be the same manufacturer as the panel so, what is the panel manufacturer?

since items like a block heater did not trip the breaker, I would suggest it is not an overload trip but the AFCI or GFCI part tripping.

you are going to have to determine if this is an AFCI breaker or a GFCI breaker. Why either would be tripping is different and would result in different tests.


do the charges have a 2 prong or 3 prong plug?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 06:09 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker Tripping


It says nothing on the breaker other then "push to test" . The panel is CEB, out of Toronto Canada. Both chargers are 3 prongs
Jeridmar6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 09:13 AM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,047
Default

Breaker Tripping


This is almost sounding like a resetable fuse except for the light aspect.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool Main breaker keeps tripping beckyreyes Electrical 12 08-11-2013 04:06 PM
Dead Breaker? and Nusiance Tripping... jasonblu Electrical 9 11-06-2009 06:13 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 01:47 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.