Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2011, 05:02 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Breaker trip


Also yes I did replace the breaker. And it is not possible to split it. It is the last open space on the main panel.
Scof1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 05:31 PM   #17
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,446
Default

Breaker trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scof1212 View Post
Also yes I did replace the breaker. And it is not possible to split it. It is the last open space on the main panel.
If you've replaced the breaker and gotten the same result, then I would conclude the load is probably above 80A RMS and your meter is not displaying it properly. You'll need to measure the actual load, or at the very least add up the current ratings of all the devices on the circuit. You'll probably need a feeder and breaker rated for more than 100A, since your existing load seems to be more than 80% of that already.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:18 PM   #18
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Breaker trip


Question of Fact: what kind of lighting needs this kind of juice and wire gauge?
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 09:06 PM   #19
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Default

Breaker trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Question of Fact: what kind of lighting needs this kind of juice and wire gauge?
Grow lights.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 09:29 PM   #20
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,446
Default

Breaker trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
Grow lights.
Hey now, he probably just has a really huge saltwater aquarium.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 09:44 PM   #21
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Breaker trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton

Hey now, he probably just has a really huge saltwater aquarium.
.

I figured it was something exotic I've never heard of.... I hadn't thought of grow lights....


I hear the greatest botanists of my generation are toiling in basements
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:01 PM   #22
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Breaker trip


Exactly 67 amps on each leg? And digital ballasts? So is this a mwbc? If so, it's check the load on the neutral as well. I'm going to assume you meant electronic ballasts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:05 PM   #23
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,446
Default

Breaker trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
.

I figured it was something exotic I've never heard of.... I hadn't thought of grow lights....


I hear the greatest botanists of my generation are toiling in basements
Depending on whether his circuit is drawing the measured 67A (probably inaccurately low) or something more than 80A, this is between 16kW and 20kW+. That is one HECK of a greenhouse. That's the sort of thing the power company will undoubtedly notice and report to the DEA. Even if this is not a grow op, I think he can expect to attract some law enforcement attention with this kind of power draw at a residence.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:44 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Breaker trip


Lol you guys are funny. Well I just upgraded every thing to 90 amp ciciute. Got a real meter, and it is just over 67 amps. So with that I am at just about 80 percent. Thanks for all the help.
Scof1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:51 AM   #25
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Breaker trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scof1212 View Post
Lol you guys are funny. Well I just upgraded every thing to 90 amp ciciute. Got a real meter, and it is just over 67 amps. So with that I am at just about 80 percent. Thanks for all the help.
Glad it worked out. Hope we weren't too snarky. We (meaning I) have a problem with thinking that we (I) am/are funny....
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crispy cable! Why wouldn't a breaker trip? morganhammer Electrical 4 04-05-2011 11:33 AM
GFI Breaker Won't Trip with tester nate456789 Electrical 31 03-25-2011 09:46 AM
Why did my breaker trip? yummy mummy Electrical 24 02-17-2010 10:38 PM
GFI breaker trip troubleshooting jeeptree10 Electrical 2 06-15-2008 10:17 AM
Breaker trip troubleshooting jeeptree10 General DIY Discussions 1 06-14-2008 03:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.