Breaker Testing - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 09:21 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,900
Rewards Points: 2,154
Default

Breaker Testing


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Well if having it tested is cheaper than 200 or so, I'd rather just replace the breaker. My honey do list is already a mile long
You'd actually have that old breaker tested for $200 before you'd change the panel????

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (08-27-2012)
Old 08-27-2012, 09:27 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Breaker Testing


What do I gain from putting in a new panel? Mines a cutler hammer ch series panel, likely the same type i'd put back in.....the rest of the panel is fine.....now that my subpanel is in (i didn't find the broken breaker till after the subpanel was half wired) i have plenty of space.....
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:34 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Breaker Testing


http://www.relectric.com/

Anyone done any business with this company?
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:22 AM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Breaker Testing


Ryan .,

Due you are in Fox Valley area I know there is one electrical supply centre may have the breaker you are looking for check with CED / Lappen Electric supply centre on Spincer street ( east of Hiway 41 bridge ) they carry pretty good slection of CH products so it don't hurt to try them to see if they have something on hand.

Also IIRC the CH2100L is no longer made now but try to ask them if they have in NOS otherwise CH2100 will fit in there but you will need a tie down kit for it.

IIRC the CH2100 do run about 60-80 Euros ( Dollars ) depending on where you get it from.

How I do know this due I do live near Fox Valley area but unforetally I am in Paris France for couple years but still do fly back to Fox valley area from time to time.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:40 AM   #20
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Breaker Testing


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
What do I gain from putting in a new panel? Mines a cutler hammer ch series panel, likely the same type i'd put back in.....the rest of the panel is fine.....now that my subpanel is in (i didn't find the broken breaker till after the subpanel was half wired) i have plenty of space.....
So you would replace the panel with the same panel that has a discontinued main? I guess it's time to just wish you the best of luck.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:48 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Breaker Testing


As I'm sure your aware, ch breakers are still a current model, it's just the specific main breaker in my panel that's broken. I'm saying there isn't anything else wrong with the rest of my panel that would warrant the work
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:50 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Breaker Testing


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican
Ryan .,


Also IIRC the CH2100L is no longer made now but try to ask them if they have in NOS otherwise CH2100 will fit in there but you will need a tie down kit for it.


Merci,
Marc
So a standard 2100 breaker will work? That's great news.

Advertisement

ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI Breaker Keeps Tripping Muinchja Electrical 30 08-25-2011 05:54 PM
Faulty Breaker? bpm Electrical 4 08-09-2011 07:17 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts