Breaker Sizing - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 10:38 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaker sizing


L is prefered but you can use "m" type, just be sure to wrap it with foil first...

Advertisement

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 12:06 PM   #17
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Breaker sizing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
You two bozo's need to learn how to get along. Besides, everyone in the field knows that the correct fuse size is 3/4" copper pipe. Cut to fit.. ;-)~
Just getting the correct information out there.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 12:07 PM   #18
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Breaker sizing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
L is prefered but you can use "m" type, just be sure to wrap it with foil first...
Filling it with sand first also helps limit the current.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:15 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Breaker sizing


also wet sand conducts better and keeps it cool
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oleguy74 For This Useful Post:
electures (08-11-2011)
Old 08-12-2011, 09:47 PM   #20
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Breaker sizing


Why did you remove my posts sizing the OCPD and related code sections?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 05:22 AM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Breaker sizing


Bickering post were removed even if they contained useful info.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
electures (08-13-2011)
Old 08-13-2011, 11:30 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Breaker sizing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
You two bozo's need to learn how to get along. Besides, everyone in the field knows that the correct fuse size is 3/4" copper pipe. Cut to fit.. ;-)~
I hope you are joking. But I am not laughing. It's these kinds of comments that get some people to do this when they had no idea it could be done.
My in-laws house had 30 amp screw in type fuses in every hole and two 60 amp for the main and the range. All the largest possible amp rated that would fit.

Keep these stupid comments for the professional sites where we all know you are kidding and that YOU are an electrician.
Around here someone may actually try this.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (08-13-2011)
Old 08-13-2011, 12:31 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaker sizing


Mama always said, "stupid is as stupid does".

Advertisement

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box nightrook Electrical 18 09-24-2009 08:49 PM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 12:18 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts