Breaker Replacement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2008, 10:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Breaker Replacement


I have a 150A service panel with no disconnect or main breaker. I need to replace one of the 120V, 15A breaker (it will not reset). Can this be done with the panel hot?
Attached Thumbnails
Breaker Replacement-panel.jpg  

Advertisement

pgr380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 10:23 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Breaker Replacement


That is a split bus panel. Try turning off the lower right double pole 60 amp breaker (out of the top 4)

Are you sure that the breaker is the trouble? Did you take the wire off of the breaker and see if it will reset? If it does, you probably have a short on that circuit.

Advertisement

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 10:39 PM   #3
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaker Replacement


That's beautiful wall paper around your electrical panel. Where can I get some of that?
Illinois G.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 10:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Breaker Replacement


Thanks, I'll trip the 60A breaker. I have not disconnected the wire from the "bad" breaker yet since I wanted to see if the panel can be messed with while hot.
pgr380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:08 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Breaker Replacement


To answer your question about changeing the breaker while the panel is hot, yes you can but highly recommend you do not attempt it.

Only a seasoned professional with experience should attempt this, if you are able to turn power off, turn it off. Don't try to be a hero.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Breaker Replacement


That did it! The 60A breaker energizes the single pole breakers underneath. I pulled a breaker from one of the other circuits and replaced the defective one. It worked fine. Thanks.

Advertisement

pgr380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker junkcollector Electrical 23 07-01-2013 03:04 PM
Breaker Box Replacement AVTechMan Electrical 1 10-22-2008 08:19 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Replacement of breaker Spraiski Electrical 6 11-27-2006 09:45 PM
breaker replacement maintenance Electrical 2 09-30-2004 08:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts