Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2008, 08:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

Breaker question


I wired up a new garage heater tonight, it keeps blowing the breaker on the "main panel". The thing is i think the guy that put in the original wiring to the garage did something i think is not right.

The heater is on a 30 amp breaker in a panel in the garage, the main breaker on that panel is 40 amp, but he has it running into the "main panel" in the house thats 15 amp.

That just doesnt make sense to me, it keeps on tripping the 15 amp breaker on the main panel. Can anyone tell me if this is a proper setup, or should I replace the 15 amp breaker with like a 40 amp or something?

mrsql is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:05 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Breaker question


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsql View Post
I wired up a new garage heater tonight, it keeps blowing the breaker on the "main panel". The thing is i think the guy that put in the original wiring to the garage did something i think is not right.

The heater is on a 30 amp breaker in a panel in the garage, the main breaker on that panel is 40 amp, but he has it running into the "main panel" in the house thats 15 amp.

That just doesnt make sense to me, it keeps on tripping the 15 amp breaker on the main panel. Can anyone tell me if this is a proper setup, or should I replace the 15 amp breaker with like a 40 amp or something?
Yes that's odd. How big is the feed from the house panel? If the wire is larger than #14, you can increase the breaker size.

InPhase277

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker question


Yes its bigger than 14g. So thats what i should do? It would fix my problem?
mrsql is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:12 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Breaker question


Tell us what type and size wire the guy ran out to the garage
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker question


It's looks like 8 gauge
mrsql is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:16 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Breaker question


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsql View Post
It's looks like 8 gauge
Looks or is? if it is, then change the breaker to a 40... and you'll be good to go.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:20 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker question


I will double check its 8 before i do. Thanks for the help.
mrsql is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 06:15 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,401
Default

Breaker question


Mkae sure the entire run from the house to the garage is #8.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 06:42 PM   #9
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Default

Breaker question


roger that . .the breaker exists . .ONLY to protect the wire insiode the wall
from turning into an toater element . .do NOT under any circumstances replace tha breaker one larger than wire size dictates . .basic safety item
Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 07:02 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Breaker question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Mkae sure the entire run from the house to the garage is #8.
Just figured i would chime in here and stress to the op to trace the ENTIRE feed before plus sizing the breaker. My garage has a feed that looks like 3/6 or triplex and should easily take 50 amps, I was getting ready to change the panel in the garage and went to upsize the breaker in the house main and found 12/2 ???? I followed it and in the house attic was a splice from the 12 to the 6 with no mechanical connection and no box!!!! just tape. Had I just swapped the breaker to a 50 I guarantee I would have burned the house down. Please check the entire feed

Andy
LS1GUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 06:22 AM   #11
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Breaker question


And this is the reason that I am a big believer that whenever you mix and match different wire sizes on a given circuit it should be labeled at the breaker. I am not saying it is a good practice to mix and match, but if you absolutly have to, then make sure it is labeled not only for safety, but to save any future home owners from a major headache!
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 04:28 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Breaker question


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
And this is the reason that I am a big believer that whenever you mix and match different wire sizes on a given circuit it should be labeled at the breaker. I am not saying it is a good practice to mix and match, but if you absolutly have to, then make sure it is labeled not only for safety, but to save any future home owners from a major headache!

So you think when upsizing for voltage drop I need to tag it that way? I dont think so... You either know what your doing or you don't, separates the men from the boys...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM
Breaker Question lmanwarren Electrical 1 03-27-2006 06:25 PM
New homeowner here...circuit breaker question fenway71 Electrical 7 01-18-2006 08:39 PM
breaker question tonymull Electrical 2 10-03-2005 11:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.