Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2013, 05:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Breaker popped


I have a new double oven. I just wired it to my 6-3 wire. The oven has 4 wires plus ground. I wired white to white red to red black to black n the ground to ground. When I turned on the 40 amp breaker it made a big pop in the junction box by ovens. I hooked the wires up correctly n have no idea why it would pop. Is there a wrong n right way to wire the breaker itself. I put my red wire in top slot of breaker n black in bottom slot of breaker could it n the problem???

ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:46 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Breaker popped


The breaker tripped, because you had a short to ground or hot to hot short. Lucky you did not have flames shoot out of the junction box or the breaker, when it tripped.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker popped


K so what does that mean n why that happen if all wires were wired correctly???
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:53 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,574
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Breaker popped


The ground are usually bare. One of them could have flexed into contact with the hot. Take a photo of the connections and post it. I have seen some connections where too much wire was stripped and bare wire was left exposed below the wire nut.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Breaker popped


You said your oven has 4 x wires plus ground,
Thats five wires !
You have only accountted for four wires on the oven !
Whats the fifth wire for ?
What color is it ?

Usually an oven only needs four wires,
HOT-NEUTRAL-HOT-GROUND.
why does yours have five ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker popped


I said I have number 6 wire. Red black white n ground. Same as what's coming out of oven.
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker popped


Do you have a multi-meter?
tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:04 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker popped


I capped each end of my wires n then turned the breaker on n it stayed on. So there is no short in my number 6 wire. N also when I had all wires hooked up I use the twist but n also taped the up. The only one I didn't use twist but on is the grounds. Is it possible that the ground wire punctured a hot wire when I put cover on junction box.
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:07 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker popped


Its possible the ground came in contact with something yes but if you said you twisted and taped i would think it unlikely.
You really need a meter to test for continuity to make sure everything is ok before you flip the switch again.
tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Breaker popped


Quote:
Originally Posted by ecocco1469 View Post
The oven has 4 wires plus ground.
Why ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:52 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker popped


I figured it out. When I tightened clamps to hold the wires in junction box. One clamp had a sharp peice of metal in middle n it went threw a wire. I recut wires n replaced clamp n it works fine. Thanks for replying so quick
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:28 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Breaker popped


After a major fault, which it sounds like you had you should consider replacing the circuit breaker.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:19 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Breaker popped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Know A Little View Post
After a major fault, which it sounds like you had you should consider replacing the circuit breaker.
Only should, if flames shot out, and a the sound of a 10 gauge Shotgun, then yes, it should be replaced. I think that they are fine with this one time fault.

If the breaker keeps tripping under load, when they get it all together, then maybe replace it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:23 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Breaker popped


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Only should, if flames shot out, and a the sound of a 10 gauge Shotgun, then yes, it should be replaced. I think that they are fine with this one time fault.

If the breaker keeps tripping under load, when they get it all together, then maybe replace it.

Seeing as he most likely does not have a Megger and or a Ductor and would not recommended he try a fall of potential test across the circuit breaker under load (DLRO, micro-ohm meter and a Ductor is not practical for small frame molded case circuit breakers) and based on the cost of the circuit breaker, IMO replacement would be a prudent action.

One of the major issues with a circuit breaker after a major fault is the carbon deposits on the insulating components of the circuit breaker, the other issue is damage to the movable and stationary contacts of the circuit breaker. And who can determine the difference of a minor fault and a major fault especially when sitting behind a keyboard?

Last edited by Know A Little; 10-08-2013 at 06:27 AM.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 07:37 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker popped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Know A Little View Post
After a major fault, which it sounds like you had you should consider replacing the circuit breaker.
ok... a breaker is made for that, not for eveyday but once wont kill it. if it was the case we would just use fuse like before

carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch trips breaker over night Hazelberg Electrical 5 09-21-2012 09:34 PM
GFCI Hot tub breaker nick26 Electrical 16 08-10-2012 07:48 AM
Added new breaker, no garage lights now. lum1nes Electrical 8 08-04-2012 07:50 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.