Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2007, 07:27 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Share |
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
You really have no choice then. Those GE "skinny" two-pole breakers use a "half" space down or up from a single pole full size breaker, if that makes any sense.
So any skinny two-pole will always be 1/2 space off from ANY full size breakers.
Makes perfect sense and confirms what I thought although don't like. As noted, I think I'll just get a full one and be done.
robertmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 07:28 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
Shoulda bought a real mans panel (40 space).
If I had your money.....
robertmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 08:01 PM   #18
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,676
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Quote:
Originally Posted by robertmee View Post
Because A) it's cheap, B) this is in a 900 sq foot bungalow which doesn't need alot of breakers, and C) it's temporary as it is slated to be torn down in 5 years when we build our retirement home. We bought it for the lot. The local elec co-op requires 200A for any new work otherwise I'd have gone with a 100A. Fair enough???????????????????
I agree with the philosophy of never using 20 space 200A panels, but in your situation it makes sense.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 09:20 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


The major PLUS to this is that since he is retiring, there won't be any little children sleeping in that house that he "wired".

GOD looks out for children.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 10:33 PM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,676
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Huh????????
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 12:38 AM   #21
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Link to panel specs.......

http://catalog.geindustrial.com/data...CC=MA&Profile=



I don't really have anything to add as Speedy has pretty much covered the bases on how this panel is configured. I'm not exactly following your misalignment problem other than cosmetic appeal.


For what it is worth you cannot on Ge panels install too many circuits using the 1/2" breakers. These are not piggy back breakers.

The bus stabs have small ears that are perpendicular to the stab and these are what the 1/2" thqp's clip to.

Here is an example of the guts of a TM2020ccu...please ignore the fact that this particular panel was an example in a fire but it was the best internal image I could find. If you want to view the fire photos follow the link. This does not mean this is a dangerous panel to use. Main breaker is not installed yet in image below.

http://www.electrical-forensics.com/EDP/EDPFires.html

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 10-21-2007 at 12:53 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 06:00 AM   #22
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Stubbie, you are the man. Jgarth, I bet Robertmee could wire circles around you.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 07:28 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Thanks Guys! I appreciate the info and vote of confidence.

For the record, I didn't 'wire' this home and I won't 'wire' the retirement home. All I did was change out an antiquated 60A panel so the power company would reconnect to a house that's been vacant for 4 years. So, JGarth, I don't know where your high horse came from and I don't appreciate the snide comment. I'm an electrical engineer and I understand the dangers and hazards of electricity. As my field is completely different from residential power distribution, it is why I ask so many (perhaps mundane to you) questions from the very knowledgeable pros on this board. I want it right and I want it safe and I'm not embarrassed to say I don't know a 1/10 of what these guys who are truly helpful know and deal with everyday.
robertmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 07:32 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I don't really have anything to add as Speedy has pretty much covered the bases on how this panel is configured. I'm not exactly following your misalignment problem other than cosmetic appeal.
That's all it is....cosmetic and my analness.

BTW, did they say what caused the fire on that new panel? Was it because of one poorly torqued lug (the last picture)? That's pretty scary.

Last edited by robertmee; 10-21-2007 at 09:04 AM.
robertmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 09:47 AM   #25
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


I didn't find a flat out statement as to the cause but it does appear to be as you said a poorly torqued lug. But I'm hesitant to say that as I'm not 100% sure. I listed that image and article for two reasons ...one to show good pictures of the guts of a TM2020CCU and two... sorta put the message out there that you gotta do good work when wiring up a panel a slight oversite (if thats what happened) and you can have some critical issues.

I apologize if I may have caused you any distress, that was not at all my intention. There is no record of this panel having any design concerns. So sleep well. You are certainly someone who shows common sense and you sure aren't a dummie by any stretch of the imagination. With your level of education I would suspect you could get up to speed on the residential wiring field pretty quickly so I'd start by getting some good books and maybe even spend a little time in a electrical trades class at a local training school. Learning is a great hobby for us retired types......

Stubbie
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 03:08 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


As closure to this thread, the inspector passed the installation today! Took all of 3 or 4 minutes. He checked for ground rods, briefly looked at the meter and panel and said looks good. I did tell him that I needed to run a couple of extra circuits for some baseboards and asked if I would need additional permitting. He said looks like you know what you're doing so for that don't bother. Thanks to everyone here, I 'look' like I know what I'm doing
robertmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 03:19 PM   #27
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Breaker Panel configuration


Quote:
Originally Posted by robertmee View Post
As closure to this thread, the inspector passed the installation today! Took all of 3 or 4 minutes. He checked for ground rods, briefly looked at the meter and panel and said looks good. I did tell him that I needed to run a couple of extra circuits for some baseboards and asked if I would need additional permitting. He said looks like you know what you're doing so for that don't bother. Thanks to everyone here, I 'look' like I know what I'm doing

Yea...Take that, JGARTH!!!
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Breaker Panel In Detach Garage Jamn68j Electrical 2 04-25-2007 03:30 PM
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 1 01-28-2004 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.