Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2010, 08:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker panel box


what is the code for a breaker box i bought one from usa can i use it in ontario

putting a new breaker panel box in my garage and need to now what the codes are box i bought it in the usa but want to install it in Ontario i have the code book but cant find it in there i no u can use wiring and stuff that say ul and so on the panel has that but someone was telling the panel box has to be csa only thanks

pleasehellpme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 09:47 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

breaker panel box


Far as I know the panel should say it is listed CSA and USA on the labeling in the panel or on the panel door.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 09:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker panel box


what if it only says ul on the box
pleasehellpme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 09:56 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

breaker panel box


Quote:
Originally Posted by pleasehellpme View Post
what if it only says ul on the box
What does the labeling inside the panel say? There should be a label in the panel that lists specifications for the panel wiring and breakers and the panel itself.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:00 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

breaker panel box


Quote:
Originally Posted by pleasehellpme View Post
what is the code for a breaker box i bought one from usa can i use it in ontario

putting a new breaker panel box in my garage and need to now what the codes are box i bought it in the usa but want to install it in Ontario i have the code book but cant find it in there i no u can use wiring and stuff that say ul and so on the panel has that but someone was telling the panel box has to be csa only thanks
If you write in sentences, and use capitalization and punctuation, it will be MUCH easier to read and comprehend your posts.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:01 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

breaker panel box


i'll have to look its in the box still at the other house i'm renovating thanks
pleasehellpme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:35 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

breaker panel box


there is a Canadian electrician that posts here that would likely know your answer but I suspect that any equipment used in Canada MUST be CSA listed. If yours does not say such, I suspect it will not be legal to use it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 01:05 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

breaker panel box


I am on the same page as Nap is but just wait one of our Canadain guys do show up they can confirm your information with it.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 10:29 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

breaker panel box


There was another thread on this exact same issue
Without the CSA listing it can't be used
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 10:39 AM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

breaker panel box


I'm with Dave and nap on this one, it MUST be approved by CSA to use it there.
(Although I would imagine in most fixtures, switches, devices, etc. UL approved would be sufficient, however I could be wrong.)

For Speedy Petey:
What is the code for a breaker box? I bought one from the USA. Can i use it in Ontario?

I'm putting a new breaker panel box in my garage and need to now what the codes are. The box I bought in the USA, but want to install it in Ontario. I have the code book but cant find it in there. I know you can use wiring and stuff that says UL and so on. The panel has that but someone was telling me the panel box has to be CSA only.

Thanks!

You're welcome Petey! *grin*

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:50 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

breaker panel box


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post

For Speedy Petey:
What is the code for a breaker box? I bought one from the USA. Can i use it in Ontario?

I'm putting a new breaker panel box in my garage and need to now what the codes are. The box I bought in the USA, but want to install it in Ontario. I have the code book but cant find it in there. I know you can use wiring and stuff that says UL and so on. The panel has that but someone was telling me the panel box has to be CSA only.

Thanks!

You're welcome Petey! *grin*

DM
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:43 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,134
Rewards Points: 3,062
Blog Entries: 4
Default

breaker panel box


You can NOT use a breaker box from USA in Canada. They do not pass code. In Canada the main breaker has a separate compartment from the branch circuit breakers. It also won't have a CSA approval.

I'm don't think you can use the cable from USA either. They have different names for cables such as NM-B. NM-B is not a listed/certified cable in Ontario. Equivalent cable is called NMD.

Example of a Canadian panel



Similar panel USA version

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 09-14-2010 at 04:55 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:48 PM   #13
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

breaker panel box


Quote:
In Canada the main breaker has a separate compartment from the branch circuit breakers. It also won't have a CSA approval.
One more manufacturing requirement that I like about Canadian electrical equipment.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:27 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

breaker panel box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
One more manufacturing requirement that I like about Canadian electrical equipment.
Yeah I really like that design too
But NEC is too busy getting that neutral code to each box passed
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:39 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,247
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

breaker panel box


Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy petey View Post
if you write in sentences, and use capitalization and punctuation, it will be much easier to read and comprehend your posts.

that's not nice.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whirlpool GFCI circuit info conflict. 3detailer Electrical 29 05-17-2010 10:12 AM
Do you think I should keep this breaker panel? fetzer85 Electrical 19 03-12-2010 07:11 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
Slot #3 blocked in Q0N Breaker Panel dallen Electrical 5 11-05-2007 07:37 PM
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 1 01-28-2004 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.