Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 07:29 PM   #31
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Share |
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


what we should have all seen is that the meter clearly states right on it that it is a 120VAC meter, therefore the what is being done is not "unsafe". not right, but not unsafe.

there is no grounding, so I wonder if installing an earth ground and connecting it to your remote subpanel would be a good idea... i am not sure if the potential difference between the two buildings would be significant enough to worry about.

do you have the option of burying a new line from the meter base to the MIL?? this way you could run a new 3 wire (capable of carrying 240VAC for future) and carry a ground. this would also allow you to put in a large gauge wire to allow for higher draw.

at the moment, you have a total load capacity of 20amps. having multiple 20amp circuits in your MIL only means that between the 3 you can only have a total draw of 20amp before tripping the meter base breaker.

so, based on the pictures, the main breaker is tripping because there is a combination of appliances connected in the MIL that draw more than the 20amps at their peak.

rod

rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:37 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Thanks for the info rditz. I understand that if I run they run the microwave and the vaccuum at the same time it tripps the breaker because the load is more than 20 AMPS, but the issue I'm having is the main 20 AMP breaker tripping when noone is home using anything. I hasn't happened in a couple months but when it was happening it was multiple times a week and sometimes multiple times a day.

If I were to bury a new feed line I would be having to jack hammer up a bunch of concrete off the patio in the back and then run conduit up to the attic, so running a new arial line would be ideal. I'm thinking that I should have an electrician come and run a new 100 AMP service and run a new line.

Based on the main feed wire in the subpanel, do you think I could change the breaker on the main panel from a 20 AMP to a 30 AMP? Or could I run into problems of the wire overheating?
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:46 AM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 24
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by 3 legged dog View Post
You have 60 amps worth of breakers and you are wondering why a 20 amp main trips?
Great comment! You might want to do an Infrared survey to check for loose connections also.
Rollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 10:11 AM   #34
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


double check the gauge of the feed wire from the meter and the one feeding the MIL. if they are #10 or better, then you can install a 30Amp breaker. (do it the right way, wire from meter base to the pole side of the panel. Feed wire from MIL to breaker lug).

rod

rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Fridge Tripping Breaker in Cold Weather aaronjwood Electrical 10 12-24-2010 06:47 PM
hot water heater keeps tripping breaker tward Electrical 3 03-26-2010 11:06 AM
Main Breaker is tripping rdmccaw Electrical 18 02-05-2009 10:27 PM
Hot water heater keeps tripping breaker ronkar88 Electrical 3 07-30-2008 12:44 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.