Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 09:57 PM   #16
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


You have 60 amps worth of breakers and you are wondering why a 20 amp main trips?

3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:05 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Well, I'm wondering why the 20 AMP breaker at the main panel tripps when noone is home. Also, why/how would one 20 AMP breaker at the main panel be feeding to three 20 AMP breakers at the subpanel inside?
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:07 PM   #18
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


The phases are most likely jumperd.
3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:31 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by mxingislife
So there is now way to tell what size wire that is?
Calipers
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:40 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,792
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by 3 legged dog View Post
You have 60 amps worth of breakers and you are wondering why a 20 amp main trips?
Adding the sum of the breakers has nothing to do with the load.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:57 PM   #21
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


If 3 breakers have even 8 amp each, it could trip a 20 amp (single pole) main.

Last edited by 3 legged dog; 01-10-2011 at 11:30 PM. Reason: Added (single pole)
3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:32 AM   #22
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Well we have a sub standard installation here.

But the problem you wrote for help with:
We either have a problem with shorting wiring
or
some load turning on in excess of rated OPCD

By the way what does MIL stand for?

I'm beginning to think that this is an occupied residence, for which I understand the separate meter
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.

Last edited by Saturday Cowboy; 01-11-2011 at 06:36 AM.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:42 AM   #23
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
.... How are all 3 breakers in sub panel on the same leg?
Feeder "jumpered" across both sides of the buss? We need to see the inside of that load-side panel as well.
__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:54 AM   #24
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Thomas View Post
Feeder "jumpered" across both sides of the buss? We need to see the inside of that load-side panel as well.
Yeah thats what I'm thinking. I frown on that practice
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 10:16 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


MIL is mother-in-law unit. Yes, I rent it out to a friend of mine, that's why its on its own meter
mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:31 AM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,792
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by 3 legged dog View Post
If 3 breakers have even 8 amp each, it could trip a 20 amp (single pole) main.
I agree, but that has nothing to do with your statement that he had 60 amps work of breakers and is the reason it trips.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:46 PM   #27
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post

"did anyone notice that the feed for the "shop" is landed on the buss lug and not a breaker.
I noticed that also... not good...

rod
rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 04:17 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Here are pics of the open subpanel









mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 04:33 PM   #29
Member
 
Sfeyelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


Do your friend a favor and have him move out, than call yourself an electrician to fix your problems. Don't know if it's even legal for you to work on this yourself as it is a rental unit. Did you do this electrical or was it like this prior?
Sfeyelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 04:48 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker Keeps Tripping


It was already like this. Original wiring from 1951. The subpanel used to be on fuses but switched to breakers in 2009. Is this a safety issue?

mxingislife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Fridge Tripping Breaker in Cold Weather aaronjwood Electrical 10 12-24-2010 06:47 PM
hot water heater keeps tripping breaker tward Electrical 3 03-26-2010 11:06 AM
Main Breaker is tripping rdmccaw Electrical 18 02-05-2009 10:27 PM
Hot water heater keeps tripping breaker ronkar88 Electrical 3 07-30-2008 12:44 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.