Breaker Fault Or Wires? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 08:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaker fault or wires?


The plugs outside of my house doesn't have power through it so I traced it back to its breaker. I used a voltage tester to check if there's power in it, however there isn't.
My question is how do I find out if it is the cause of faulty wires or my breaker? Also, if I were to buy a new breaker, the breaker that is there has a little button under it, could any breaker work? or do I have to purchase a breaker that also has a button on it?
Thank you

Advertisement

kk1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:31 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Breaker fault or wires?


Is this a GFI breaker? Do the button say Reset on it?

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Breaker fault or wires?


Have you reset the breaker?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaker fault or wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Have you reset the breaker?
The button says "Test", I've pressed it but nothing happens
kk1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,811
Rewards Points: 738
Default

Breaker fault or wires?


Pushing test would trip the breaker and shut it off.
That's a GFI breaker. If it's tripping that can mean there's a loose wire or there's moisture in the outlet.
It sinces the flow of electricty going in and coming out. If it's not the same it shuts off.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:03 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Breaker fault or wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kk1234 View Post
The button says "Test", I've pressed it but nothing happens
Turn the breaker all the way off then back to on.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:12 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaker fault or wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Pushing test would trip the breaker and shut it off.
That's a GFI breaker. If it's tripping that can mean there's a loose wire or there's moisture in the outlet.
It sinces the flow of electricty going in and coming out. If it's not the same it shuts off.
I don't think it is tripping since I haven't been able the use the plug outside since I moved in which was a year ago. I've already tried to adjust the wires and turning it on and off though

Advertisement

kk1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arc Fault Breaker aispatero Introductions 2 06-12-2011 08:31 PM
Arch Fault Breaker aispatero Electrical 2 06-01-2011 11:16 PM
Splicing Wires in Electrical Breaker Panel airdaleairdale Electrical 14 06-11-2009 08:20 AM
Req: Help connecting circuit breaker and running wires RickDel Electrical 5 05-26-2009 07:38 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts