Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2012, 05:58 PM   #16
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Share |
Default

Breaker Failure


I've seen mains blow before branch tons of times. Trip curve can have a lot to do with it too. I remember once when I was still a lowly apprentice I was assissting with a panel install in a large grocery store we were building. I remember my journeyman ducking to the side and a bright flash from behind me. Turned out someone had run into a temporary board with a scissor lift and shorted two phases. Went clean through the panel behind me and kicked out a 400a main. Took a fair bit of hair off the back of my neck. We later found out that the main had been adjusted right down and was set to pop at a shorter time than the main in the panel. Either way I'm glad it went as fast as it did.

I should note that the panel we were working on was dead and it was a different panel that burnt up.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:22 PM   #17
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,261
Default

Breaker Failure


Going back to the OP,
it is a good example why code says not to run extension cords thru doors, windows, etc.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:58 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 117
Default

Breaker Failure


The breakers are not FPE, they're Square D.
michaelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:46 AM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Breaker Failure


Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelson View Post
The breakers are not FPE, they're Square D.
Ok SqD we are on something but QO or Homeline or other oddball series ?

Normally the QO and Homeline branch circuit useally trip before the main breaker unless you have pretty good load on the panel then the main will catch it first.

BTW the QO's the trip curve is about the same for either branch breaker or main breaker there is not much diffence on it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:15 AM   #20
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Breaker Failure


Seen it happen with GE breakers Marc. Again has nothing to do with the trip curve of the breakers, or what you are calling a oddball. It is about a rare occurrence, that can and does happen more than you and others may believe.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:53 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 117
Default

Breaker Failure


So, it's not an indication that the breaker's defective? I'm just quite surprised that it gets to do all that before the room's breaker blows.
michaelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:58 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 117
Default

Breaker Failure


Is there any way to test the breakers to see if they work? I'm not thinking about doing this again, but maybe a space heater, hairdryer, and a microwave? Or is that like testing a carbon monoxide detector with the car running in the garage?
michaelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 09:30 AM   #23
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,672
Default

Breaker Failure


For the price of a breaker ($5 or so) I would replace it as a precaution.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
zappa (09-18-2012)
Old 09-18-2012, 12:53 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 117
Default

Breaker Failure


So. I did a little research on the breakers. It appears that there were a batch of fake Square D breakers out there that don't work. I can't see the back or sides of them, but the handles have embossed ratings on them instead of the white painted numbers.

Am I just barking up a tree paranoid or could these be really bad?
michaelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 05:14 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 833
Default

Breaker Failure


Like rjniles suggested....just replace as it failed to do its job.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 05:59 AM   #26
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,672
Default

Breaker Failure


Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelson View Post
So. I did a little research on the breakers. It appears that there were a batch of fake Square D breakers out there that don't work. I can't see the back or sides of them, but the handles have embossed ratings on them instead of the white painted numbers.

Am I just barking up a tree paranoid or could these be really bad?
Info on fake Square D breakers

http://www.lanl.gov/safety/electrica...t_breakers.pdf
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well pump trips breaker at start, but then starts when breaker reset J. David Electrical 34 02-25-2012 11:23 AM
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 10:28 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.