Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2010, 01:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Breaker compatiability



Stupid question but... (no stupid question except not asked)....

Are breaker "brands" compatiable between breaker boxes? Seems like everywhere I look they say put GE breaker in GE box, etc. BUT seems like they are cross-brand compatiable.

Any problem with that thinking?

MeanGene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 01:47 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker compatiability


a breaker is only legally allowed to use in a panel it has been listed or approved for regardless of how well it fits.


Who lists these breakers? UL is generally the agency that does so although any agency the government approves could.

I know Square D does not subject their breakers to be approved for use in any other panel. As such, if you ever see a square D breaker in another panel, it is not legal.

Cutler Hammer makes a line of what they call "classified" breakers. They had their breakers UL tested for compatibility for use with many other panels.

as to the rest; can't honestly tell you who has and who hasn't gone to the trouble of having their breakers listed for use in other manufacturers panels.

My belief; stick with the panel manufacturers breakers. You know they are approved if you do that.

and no, that is definitely not a stupid question. It is one that is often misunderstood, even by electricians. The more that know the truth, the better it is for everybody.


Last edited by nap; 07-12-2010 at 05:15 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 05:11 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker compatiability


Quote:
Originally Posted by MeanGene View Post

Stupid question but... (no stupid question except not asked)....

Are breaker "brands" compatiable between breaker boxes? Seems like everywhere I look they say put GE breaker in GE box, etc. BUT seems like they are cross-brand compatiable.

Any problem with that thinking?
To answer your question..
Attached Thumbnails
Breaker compatiability-breaker-face.jpg   Breaker compatiability-breaker-l-l.jpg  
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 05:20 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker compatiability


I went to those folks website and happened to notice this:

Quote:
Connecticut Electric, Inc. is headquartered in Anderson, Indiana
Who would have thought of that.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 05:44 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker compatiability


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I went to those folks website and happened to notice this:


Who would have thought of that.
Ya, but the label on the other side says Made in Mexico
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 06:55 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Breaker compatiability


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Ya, but the label on the other side says Made in Mexico
that'e even better

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaker Tripping Jeridmar6 Electrical 15 07-10-2010 08:20 PM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 01:18 AM
Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem jmreynol Electrical 3 04-28-2009 07:06 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.