Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-23-2010, 11:20 PM   #1

Share |

Breaker box wiring question(s)

I have a breaker box (electrical panel, whatever you call it) that was installed in 1976. In slots 1 & 2 is one 30 amp breaker with two wires going to it (forgive me, I'm no electrician & realize I'm not using the correct technical terms). The same in slots 3 & 4. The labeling says slots 1 & 3 are for the window air conditioner (220V) & slots 2 & 4 are for the water heater (I'm assuming that's 220V also). The levers (or tabs, handles, ears, whatever you call them...the things you push from side to side to turn the breaker on & off) on slots 1 & 3 are connected to each other by a metal piece that turns both slots (1 & 3) on & off at the same time. The levers on slots 2 & 4 are likewise connected to each other. Question One: Why was this be done this way? In other words, why aren't the two wires for the air conditioner connected to slots 1 & 2 in one 30 amp breaker & the two wires for the water heater connected to slots 3 & 4 in the other 30 amp breaker? Question Two: I need to install a new window air conditioner which calls for a 15 amp breaker. It seems to me I will need to replace the 30 amp breaker that fills slot 1 & 2 with a 15 amp breaker & then re-route the wire in slot 2 (for the water heater) to slot 3 & re-route the wire in slot 3 (for the air conditioner) to slot 2, ending up with the two air conditioner wires in the 15 amp breaker in slots 1 & 2 & the two water heater wires in the 30 amp breaker in slots 3 & 4. Is this correct or am I missing something here? I just have a feeling there was a reason the wiring was split between the two breakers and don't want to mess things up. Thanks for any help.

janralix is offline   Reply With Quote