Breaker Box Size - How Big Can I Go? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2010, 12:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaker Box Size - How big can I go?


I currently have a square D HomeLine 100 amp, 20 space, circuit breaker load center with one 60amp sub panel. I am upgrading as much of my house’s wiring as possible and fixing 45 years of creative wiring.
In the middle of my yard I have an outside main fuse block with two 100amp cartridge fuses in the block. I assume this means I have a 100 amp feed to the house. The wire to my fuse box is #2 seven strand copper and about 110 feet from the fuse block in the yard to my inside load center.
I would like to replace my main breaker box with one that has as many spaces and amps as possible (within code for New Mexico) to allow for adding a 48 amp kiln and other items and general flexibility in the future without having to rip out the box again. How big can I go?

Advertisement

Shreby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaker Box Size - How big can I go?


Ask your local electrical inspector about total number of slots/breakers and max amperage.

Ask your power company so far as amperage goes. What they can supply.

Then here is some recent info...
http://static.schneider-electric.us/...1100HO0802.pdf

Then if you want to be totally confused, read this...
http://ecatalog.squared.com/pubs/Ele...0100DB0708.pdf

Advertisement

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:45 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaker Box Size - How big can I go?


FYI - The following map says NM is on 2008 NEC, BUT local areas can amend rules, so best to ask your inspector just to be sure.
http://www.schneider-electric.us/sup...adoption-map2/
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help, breaker unstable Atroxx Electrical 16 08-08-2009 11:53 AM
Splicing Wires in Electrical Breaker Panel airdaleairdale Electrical 14 06-11-2009 08:20 AM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 02:18 AM
What size breaker Ineedhelp2009 Electrical 7 05-20-2009 07:44 PM
Transformer Help chcustom Electrical 28 12-10-2007 11:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts