Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2008, 03:56 PM   #1
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


My breakerbox has no main breaker to kill power to the box. All that occurs is 4 large wires enter the box, 2 to the neutral bus bar 1 to a hot bar that has 15 amp breakers and 1 to a hot bar that has 20 amp breakers. There is an open slot on the 15 amp bar that i wanted to make use of for some can lights in the kitchen. How do you work on a box of this type, as far as i can see there is no way to deaden it.

SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
How do you work on a box of this type

In your case, VERY carefully.

Is there a main disconnect switch outside somewhere?

You may have to call the power co and have them pull the meter if you need to disconnect it.

An electrician would probably work with it hot. You probably shouldn't.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:26 PM   #3
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


I live in a quadplex and each building has utility boxes on one end but the only thing in their is cable and garage breakers. My question would be... What voltage do you think is entering the box? I wont touch is hot regardless but I am curious, we have an independent breaker box for our 220 dryer plug.
SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:32 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SubSailor View Post
My breakerbox has no main breaker to kill power to the box. All that occurs is 4 large wires enter the box, 2 to the neutral bus bar 1 to a hot bar that has 15 amp breakers and 1 to a hot bar that has 20 amp breakers.
You have a main disconnect somewhere else.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Hard to say by your description. It is likely a 240 volt panel.

The confusion is where you said "two wires to the neutral bus".


A typical 240 panel would have 2 hots, one neutral and one ground.


PICS??
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:04 PM   #6
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.




SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:09 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
A typical 240 panel would have 2 hots, one neutral and one ground.
A "typical" MAIN panel will have two hots and a neutral, and NO ground. This is why I suggested he has a main elsewhere.

Now we see from the pics that this IS a sub-panel.
There DEFINITELY IS a main disconnect somewhere.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Wow. I love the transformer sitting in there.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:11 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Sub, do you own this place or rent?

That looks like a typical old apartment/condo panel.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:15 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Wow. I love the transformer sitting in there.
Nice, huh?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:17 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Wow. I love the transformer sitting in there.
Now i know where to put my transformer.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:17 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Nice, huh?
It's almost as good as the tap for the 30A breaker? A/C or Dryer?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:18 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
It's almost as good as the tap for the 30A breaker? A/C or Dryer?
Probably a dryer. Hey, at least they used 3-wire.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:19 PM   #14
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Sub, do you own this place or rent?

That looks like a typical old apartment/condo panel.
Own it. These condos were built in 1973-1975. From what i have seen in the structure, there is no way these where inspected, during construction.
SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:21 PM   #15
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box has no main shutoff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Probably a dryer. Hey, at least they used 3-wire.
Speaking of that, I would love to get rid of that tap, We run on propane dryers, and have since day one, I do not understand the point of that, there is a dryer receptacle on the other end of that wire.

SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Main house breaker keeps tripping cosmicmah Electrical 20 01-22-2008 12:36 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM
Main disconnect breaker coyote556 Electrical 9 08-01-2007 04:52 AM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 04:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.