Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-11-2011, 05:46 PM   #1
Automotive Service Tech.

Share |

Breaker Box Ground/Neutral Connection Help

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and home electrical work in general, but I'm a professional automotive service technician and I have several years of experience with automotive electrical systems, as such I have a good understanding of electrical basics, but I'm not very familiar with AC earth grounds systems as I mainly work with DC chassis ground systems so I have a lot to learn when I comes to home electrical wiring.

I live in a four unit apartment building and one of the units burned down in the past due to an electrical fire; I have not had any problems with my electrical wiring yet, but while installing a new sub panel breaker box I found some questionable things that concern me.

I'm unsure if my breaker box is wired correctly because there are ground wires attached to the neutral bus bar and the ground and neutral bars are attached with a jumper. I've found conflicting information about whether or not this is correct so I'm hoping you guys can clear this up for me.

This is a picture of the main breaker panel located in my basement, the main service 200A breaker is located outside at my meter box. This breaker panel feeds two sub panels, one in my second story apartment, and one in the basement. Please let me know if this looks correct, any and all help is greatly appreciated.

SALEEN961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 05:51 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

You are correct --> that panel is improperly wired.

It appears that the incoming cable is a 3-wire type SEU, and should have been a 4-wire type SER.

There is not much you can do at this point unless you have the entire incoming cable replaced with the correct type, and separate the neutral and grounding buss bars.