Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2007, 09:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Breaker Box Directly Under Meter Box Help!


We have 2 meters 1 for the house & 1 for the garage. 220 3 phase going into garage. Problem is only 1 phase is working. Everything running off 110 is okay but the air compressor needs 220. Power co came out and said fuse/breaker in box under the meter box (which he left untaged for access) is may be bad or just needs to be reset. We went out tonight and tried to reset it and it won't reset so we have lost all power to the garage. Not sure where to go from here. Power co said full power is coming into the meter box so they won't do anything else. To change the fuse(s) do we need to have the power co shut the power off at the meter? We did not take the panel off where the reset switch is since we were using a flashlight in the dark. Does anyone know if there are fuses or breakers or what?


Last edited by day7102; 12-15-2007 at 12:29 PM. Reason: Have a master electrician coming to change out the box
day7102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 12:56 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Breaker Box Directly Under Meter Box Help!


I dont know where ya from but there is one issue will come up is that the 3 system is little tricky to trobleshooting if you dont understand this.

you have a fuse or circuit breaker below the meter box ??

and how good are you with electrical system ? if not really conftable i will suggest to get a electricican to come out and check it out.

and if you want to troubleshoot it please post it back here we will go from there.

P.S. the 3 system in resdential area useally are delta set up but once a while wye connected i will expain more later.

Merci, Marc

Little while ago we did have the tread discussed with this set up and i am sure it will be very simuair what you have now

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 10:30 AM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Breaker Box Directly Under Meter Box Help!


Not meaning to be condscending but from the tenor of the original post, I would strongly suggest hiring an electrician. You sound a bit too unkowing for me to offer advice that could put your life in jeopardy.

the comment,
Quote:
Does anyone know if there are fuses or breakers or what?
really bothers me. If you do not understand the situation to this great of extent, I really would suggest calling an electrician. It does not take but one mistake for it to be your last.

If you should attempt to undertake this, just be damn careful you know what can kill you and don't touch that.



this is a shout out to say hi to french277 , petey, and any other members I am familiar with from another forum we both frequent.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 12:48 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaker Box Directly Under Meter Box Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Not meaning to be condscending but from the tenor of the original post, I would strongly suggest hiring an electrician. You sound a bit too unkowing for me to offer advice that could put your life in jeopardy.

the comment,
really bothers me. If you do not understand the situation to this great of extent, I really would suggest calling an electrician. It does not take but one mistake for it to be your last.

If you should attempt to undertake this, just be damn careful you know what can kill you and don't touch that.



this is a shout out to say hi to french277 , petey, and any other members I am familiar with from another forum we both frequent.
Thank You so much for taking the time to respond to the post. Just wanted you to know an electrician friend of ours said the breaker could not be taken out and replaced because the box was too rusted. A master electrician friend of our sons is going to change the whole thing out for us tomorrow. I didn't mean to sound so dumb in the post. I actually can wire switches but I don't mess with anything more than that. My husband is pretty good at working with electric but has never changed out a whole meter box before. Thanks again for your time Jean
day7102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 12:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Breaker Box Directly Under Meter Box Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I dont know where ya from but there is one issue will come up is that the 3 system is little tricky to trobleshooting if you dont understand this.

you have a fuse or circuit breaker below the meter box ??

and how good are you with electrical system ? if not really conftable i will suggest to get a electricican to come out and check it out.

and if you want to troubleshoot it please post it back here we will go from there.

P.S. the 3 system in resdential area useally are delta set up but once a while wye connected i will expain more later.

Merci, Marc

Little while ago we did have the tread discussed with this set up and i am sure it will be very simuair what you have now
Thanks for your time. We have an electrician who is going to change out the whole box. The breaker is a Siemans 200 amp. The box is pretty rusted so we will not be able to change it out. Thanks again!!!
day7102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 01:11 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Breaker Box Directly Under Meter Box Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by day7102 View Post
Thanks again for your time Jean
You are welcome and glad to hear you have a good plan of action.

When I was an apprentice, I had a journeyman that kept telling me something.

"We work with silent death. You can't see it, you can;t hear it but it can bite you and it can kill you."

Not that I intend to make others paranoid but that statement is always in the back of my mind.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
100amps meter with 200amp breaker box? Snooker Electrical 3 04-15-2007 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.