Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2008, 06:33 PM   #1
Lehigh Valley PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box


Is there any standard as to how a breaker box needs to be mounted in a residential application?
Reason I ask is I would like to mount one sideways surface mounted on the wall.
It is a 200A panel with 40 spaces.

Also what is the standard mounting height?

Thanks.

Nhrafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 06:39 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Breaker box


Name:  240.33.jpg
Views: 129
Size:  36.5 KB
Here is one reason...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:45 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,152
Rewards Points: 3,098
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Breaker box


That's a big difference between NEC and CEC. It is common to mount a breaker panel on its side in Canada. We can also have more than 42 breakers in one panel.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:46 PM   #4
Lehigh Valley PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Attachment 2969
Here is one reason...

What is this supposed to mean?
I looked up the section and all I can find is this:

"240.33 The first sentence of this section has been rewritten to permit enclosures for overcurrent devices to be mounted in other than a vertical position when it is not practical to do so."
Nhrafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:19 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Breaker box


On must be Up. This precludes the mounting of panels on their side.

The middle of the handle of the highest breaker can be no higher than 2 meters or 6'7".
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:20 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaker box


Actually it doesn't preclude mounting them on their side, but it does eliminate half of the panel.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:27 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
That's a big difference between NEC and CEC. It is common to mount a breaker panel on its side in Canada. We can also have more than 42 breakers in one panel.

as soon as '08 code is adopted, we can too.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:35 PM   #8
Lehigh Valley PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box


Another ? I have is this...

Is there a limit to how many double pole breakers that can be installed in a 40 circuit box?

I ask because I have radiant heat and each room is a separate zone so I have seven 20A double pole breakers already plus the one for the oven, the range top, water pump, the welder, and the portable heater outlet in the garage.

So I am wondering how many are allowed in a box and if there is a limit.
Nhrafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:36 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nhrafan View Post
So I am wondering how many are allowed in a box and if there is a limit.

I would have to say

20
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Breaker box


Quote:
Is there a limit to how many double pole breakers that can be installed in a 40 circuit box?
That would be 20
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:40 PM   #11
Lehigh Valley PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box


Thanks guys!

I appreciate it.
Nhrafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 10:36 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Breaker box


Unless the panel is listed for use with tandems the answer could be zero.

What is the brand and part number of your panel?
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 08:17 AM   #13
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Unless the panel is listed for use with tandems the answer could be zero.

What is the brand and part number of your panel?
Why would the answer be zero? If the panel was listed for 40 circuits, then 20 dp breakers could be installed.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 08:41 AM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Breaker box


Andy,

I disagree, the panel label will show if and where the tandems can be used. The 40 circuit panels I have seen and installed do not allow tandems. The mounting rails will not allow the use of CTL (circuit tandem limiting) breakers. Use of non-CTL breakers are listed for replacement use only.

A panel like a QO200M3040 takes 30 full size breakers but can use 10 tandems to makeup the 40 circuits. The devil is in the details.

On a side note why use a breaker than is more than double the cost over a single?
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 08:49 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Breaker box


The question was "how many double poll breakers could fit?"
Tandems are not double poll breakers.

hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 06:00 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.