Brand New Building...where Are My Grounds? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2008, 09:01 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
BTW, Ranalli, those are NOT self grounding receptacles.
Could the bottom screw have the self grounding hardware on it or is it on both screws? Rarely ever see them here.


If the bottom screw looks just like the top one...just a screw and a plastic retainer, it's not self grounded and needs a pigtail.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:05 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Could the bottom screw have the self grounding hardware on it or is it on both screws? Rarely ever see them here.


If the bottom screw looks just like the top one...just a screw and a plastic retainer, it's not self grounded and needs a pigtail.
I can tell just from looking at it. Those are $.49 Cooper receptacles.
They are not self grounding.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:13 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Then...go get em Ranalli
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:21 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
BE VARY CAREFUL.
Just because you bought this place DOES NOT automatically mean you can do electrical work there. Many multi-family dwellings are in areas that prohibit untrained, unqualified and unlicensed folks to do work.
There is WAY more at stake than your small portion of the structure.


I certainly wasn't planning on it...trust me
ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:23 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Matsukaze View Post
Boy, Speedy Petey sure lives up to his name. He posted three replies while I was composing this one.

It looks like your condo is wired with type AC cable. The small aluminum wire that's folded back under the connector isn't exactly a ground wire, it's a bonding wire. The metallic sheath of the cable is the grounding conductor. I can't tell from your photo, but if the receptacles are self-grounding like this they don't need a grounding wire connected to the green screw, as long as they're installed in a properly installed, grounded metal box. It looks as if that box is recessed too far--it ought to be flush with the drywall.

I see....yes I definitely have that setup with the bonding wire..it's wrapped to the flexible conduit behind the receptacle seems like.
ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:25 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post



BTW, Ranalli, those are NOT self grounding receptacles. I just noticed the picture link.
They absolutely DO require a ground jumper to the box.

Really? Thanks for letting me know!!

But all I would need to do is put self-grounding receptacles in then...correct? Easy fix?
ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:27 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Then...go get em Ranalli

I guess I'm going to have to....these guys are such maroons!!! This will be one of many things that wasn't quite right.
ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:39 PM   #23
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ranalli View Post
But all I would need to do is put self-grounding receptacles in then...correct? Easy fix?
Yup and yup.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:03 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Yeah, looks like the label on the receptacle was Cooper 270W which is just a standard grade:

http://64.239.63.88/catalog/pdf/G%2016.pdf

Advertisement

ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEC uses building size?????? hhiibel Electrical 14 08-08-2008 01:19 PM
Building a movable garden shed/greenhouse gardener Building & Construction 1 06-13-2008 05:47 PM
grounding pole building sheet metal? borderbuster Electrical 2 07-08-2007 03:11 AM
A steel building that doesn't look like a steel building? MMW Building & Construction 1 06-11-2007 05:24 PM
International building code and permits rforsha Building & Construction 4 08-28-2006 07:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts