Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2008, 05:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


I just moved into a newly constructed apartment building and upon inspecting my breaker box to ensure I could wire a grounded receptacle in for my dryer I noticed that there were no grounds wired into the box. However, the ground wires on the cables are not cut but instead seemed to be pulled back through the holes in the breaker box. You can see this in the two pictures below.


http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3245/...7e8a6c31_o.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3291/...6c6bbf69_o.jpg

Is this normal? Could these be grounded outside the box somewhere in a place I can't see? Shouldn't there be a ground bar like the neutral bar you see? I find it hard to believe a brand new building would have an issue like this but I've seen stranger things.

Much thanks.

ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


The grounds are likely cut off and folded back under the connector, inside the wall. I saw this done recently in new constuction. I'm not sure what kind of cable it was but apparently it is an approved wiring method.

The panel ground may be the conduit itself. I can't tell from the puic if it is conduit or cable.

You just need to screw a ground bus/lug directly to your panel to terminate additional ground wires.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Actually....I think it's a lot worse. I just looked at two separate sockets in two separate rooms and neither of them even have grounds wired to them....this is a brand new building...who could have let that pass inspection?? So essentially nothing in my entire apartment seems to be grounded...very dangerous.
ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Again.


The grounds are likely cut off and folded back under the connector, inside the wall.

The grounds are terminated between the metal cable sheath and the metal cable connector. Apparently it is a new and approved method.

I don't know any details on this cable. I saw them do it on LA Hard Hats (TV show) , constructing a hi rise in LA.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Again.


The grounds are likely cut off and folded back under the connector, inside the wall.

The grounds are terminated between the metal cable sheath and the metal cable connector. Apparently it is a new and approved method.

I don't know any details on this cable. I saw them do it on LA Hard Hats (TV show) , constructing a hi rise in LA.

220/221...thanks for your help.


Here's a picture of one of the sockets. There's no ground that I can see that is connected to it. It would normally be attached to the green screw on the side. If I were to plug an appliance in there where would it ground to? There's only two wires connected.


http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3290/...a07b8b58_b.jpg


Forgive my ignorance but this doesn't seem right.
ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


If this is an apartment building, are you authorized to do electrical work in it?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:45 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
If this is an apartment building, are you authorized to do electrical work in it?


Well it's a condo I just bought actually...so I guess that's a yes. But I literally just settled a month ago so I'm going to go after these guys if this isn't right or safe.
ranalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


I know that switches installed in metal boxes do not need to be grounded. The screws are considered a sufficient ground fault path.

I don't know about recepticals. I'll try to look it up.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:27 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


THAT IS AC CABLE.
Those bare aluminum strips that are bent back are NOT ground wires. The are bond strips and are designed to be folded back. They DO NOT terminate on any bars or connectors.
The sheath of AC cable is the ground. The bond strip assures this.

If you have "self-grounding" receptacles, the kind with the metal clip at the mounting screw, you are fine and legal.
If not then a grounding jumper to the metal box is mandatory for receptacles.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:30 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ranalli View Post
Well it's a condo I just bought actually...so I guess that's a yes. But I literally just settled a month ago so I'm going to go after these guys if this isn't right or safe.
BE VARY CAREFUL.
Just because you bought this place DOES NOT automatically mean you can do electrical work there. Many multi-family dwellings are in areas that prohibit untrained, unqualified and unlicensed folks to do work.
There is WAY more at stake than your small portion of the structure.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:30 PM   #11
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Looks like AC cable to me. Here's something you might want to look at Ranalli:

http://www.southwire.com/Southwire/S...bleCrosses.pdf

This is for MC cable, but I believe it terminates the same as AC.

No ground wire is required for the receps as long as the receps yoke is listed for self grounding. 250.146(B)
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:31 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
This is for MC cable, but I believe it terminates the same as AC.
While similar in construction, AC cable and MC cable terminate in quite different ways.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Boy, Speedy Petey sure lives up to his name. He posted three replies while I was composing this one.

It looks like your condo is wired with type AC cable. The small aluminum wire that's folded back under the connector isn't exactly a ground wire, it's a bonding wire. The metallic sheath of the cable is the grounding conductor. I can't tell from your photo, but if the receptacles are self-grounding like this they don't need a grounding wire connected to the green screw, as long as they're installed in a properly installed, grounded metal box. It looks as if that box is recessed too far--it ought to be flush with the drywall.

Last edited by Matsukaze; 09-18-2008 at 07:45 PM. Reason: Beaten to the punch
Matsukaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:49 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


It must be a jurisdictional thing! Here in Ontario Canada, all cable must have a ground wire within the sheath.
The ground must first connect to the box ground screw and then to the receptical or fixture ground screw.
Before this rule was established, BX cable came with a bonding ribbon. The ribbon was turned back and clamped between the metalic sheath and the connector clamp.
For sure grounding turned back on non-metallic sheath cable would not be allowed.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:53 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Brand new building...where are my grounds?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Matsukaze View Post
Boy, Speedy Petey sure lives up to his name. He posted three replies while I was composing this one.



BTW, Ranalli, those are NOT self grounding receptacles. I just noticed the picture link.
They absolutely DO require a ground jumper to the box.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEC uses building size?????? hhiibel Electrical 14 08-08-2008 12:19 PM
Building a movable garden shed/greenhouse gardener Building & Construction 1 06-13-2008 04:47 PM
grounding pole building sheet metal? borderbuster Electrical 2 07-08-2007 02:11 AM
A steel building that doesn't look like a steel building? MMW Building & Construction 1 06-11-2007 04:24 PM
International building code and permits rforsha Building & Construction 4 08-28-2006 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.