Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 04:25 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

Branch circuit


Hi again guys


Right here goes.

I have wired 4 single pole switches to the light circuit the builder installed..... As the circuit was already installed i decided to run the cable from each light to the switches......Everything is good.

I have installed a 2nd circuit consisting off, 3 lights and 2 receptacles (at the end of circuit) I ran the cable from the 15amp breaker to the first light, added a cable for this switch under the stairs. Cable continued from the 1st light to the next switch box at the bottom of the stairs....cable then continued to the 2nd and 3rd light and finished off at the receptacle. Everything looks good, 1st light works fine with the 1st switch, however the 2nd switch in the off position the remaking lights are on....and when the switch is turned to the on position the breaker trips......

It's probably something simple that I have overlooked but its annoying nonetheless.


Your advice in the past was great, so I am hoping you could advise again.

Thanks

powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:29 PM   #17
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,578
Default

Branch circuit


You cannot wire a receptacle off of a switch loop. The white is a hot, not a neutral.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:31 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port
You cannot wire a receptacle off of a switch loop. The white is a hot, not a neutral.
Something simple like I said......your finger pointing in the right direction is much appreciated.

thanks
powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:56 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Canada does not have the dedicated circuit to a bathroom rule. You can put that stuff on any circuit you want as long as you don't go over the 12 devices per circuit rule. Lighting must be on a 15 amp circuit. The receptacle by the sink does need to be GFCI.
Lighting must not be be on 20A circuits? That seems like a strange rule.
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:33 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port
You cannot wire a receptacle off of a switch loop. The white is a hot, not a neutral.
Ok, next dilemma

It goes like this.......I have power to the light under the stairs, this light has a switch, the circuit continues from the light to the next 2 lights and then on to the receptacle..... I have switch connected to the 2nd light, hoping this wold now turn 2nd and 3rd lights on/off while keeping power to the receptacle..... When I turn the breaker back on, the 3rd light is constantly on while the second light turns the on/off with the switch. Again I am missing something simple just can't put my finger on it.

Thanks
powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:22 AM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,539
Default

Branch circuit


You need to change the cable between the 2nd and 3rd light to a 14/3 if you want the light switched and the receptacle on.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 12:46 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed
You need to change the cable between the 2nd and 3rd light to a 14/3 if you want the light switched and the receptacle on.
Thanks..... Another simple solution.
Basement nearly ready for inspection.
powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:00 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Branch circuit


One final question... The inspector decided I need a exhaust fan in the basement washroom even though there is no bath or shower....


My bathroom circuit is like this..... Outlet (outside washroom)exhaust fan, vanity light, then GFCI, and finally another outlet just outside the washroom.

I'm trying to put the fan on its own switch but slightly confused as to how? Do I need 14/3 somewhere on the circuit??
powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:36 PM   #24
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,005
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by powdaking View Post
One final question... The inspector decided I need a exhaust fan in the basement washroom even though there is no bath or shower....


My bathroom circuit is like this..... Outlet (outside washroom)exhaust fan, vanity light, then GFCI, and finally another outlet just outside the washroom.

I'm trying to put the fan on its own switch but slightly confused as to how? Do I need 14/3 somewhere on the circuit??
I'm not sure what you want. I thought originally you wanted one switch to turn all the lights on and have two reeptacles after the 3rd light.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:43 PM   #25
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,005
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by powdaking View Post
Ok, next dilemma

It goes like this.......I have power to the light under the stairs, this light has a switch, the circuit continues from the light to the next 2 lights and then on to the receptacle..... I have switch connected to the 2nd light, hoping this wold now turn 2nd and 3rd lights on/off while keeping power to the receptacle..... When I turn the breaker back on, the 3rd light is constantly on while the second light turns the on/off with the switch. Again I am missing something simple just can't put my finger on it.

Thanks


This second circuit has 3 lights ...power enters the 1st light light fixture box. You want that light to operate with one switch. Then take power to the second light fixture from there you want the 2nd and 3rd lights switched by a 2nd switch and then have constant power to a receptacle(s).
Is that correct? If so follow Joes advice. You may be having trouble with seeing how the connections need to be made .. do you want a diagram?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-10-2013 at 04:50 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:33 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Branch circuit


Hi Stubbie


I have 3 circuits, 1&2 are complete but it's circuit 3 where I'm now having problems...... The inspector insists on a bathroom fan. My 3rd circuit (bathroom) is complete and goes like this from breaker box to 1st outlet (which is outside bathroom), then onto vanity light gfci and finally an another outlet (outside bathroom).

I need to put a fan in the middle of the circuit, and to a switch.... Not sure of how??

Thanks
powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:04 PM   #27
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,005
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by powdaking View Post
Hi Stubbie


I have 3 circuits, 1&2 are complete but it's circuit 3 where I'm now having problems...... The inspector insists on a bathroom fan. My 3rd circuit (bathroom) is complete and goes like this from breaker box to 1st outlet (which is outside bathroom), then onto vanity light gfci and finally an another outlet (outside bathroom).

I need to put a fan in the middle of the circuit, and to a switch.... Not sure of how??

Thanks
I'm going to assume things are different in canada code for bathrooms....

I'm not sure what you mean by vanity light gfci so my guess is your talking about a gfci receptacle that power is taken onward for the contolling switch and vanity light. Without seeing what you have it is hard to tell you what would work best.

How is the bathroom laid out?

Where is the gfci located?

Where is the vanity light switch in relation to where you want the exhaust fan switch ?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:39 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Branch circuit


Hi Stubbie


The light switch and fan switch are by the door, on the opposite wall is the light and GFCI outlet, the fan is in the centre of the ceiling. Power runs from the breaker to the 1st outlet on to the light then GFCI and then 2nd outlet.

With the fan in the middle of the ceiling I was hoping to run the power from 1st outlet to the fan, then the light then the GFCI and finally the 2nd outlet. I will run 14/2 direct from the light to the switch and 14/2 direct from the fan to the 2nd switch.

Does this help?

Thanks
powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:19 PM   #29
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,005
Default

Branch circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by powdaking View Post
Hi Stubbie


The light switch and fan switch are by the door, on the opposite wall is the light and GFCI outlet, the fan is in the centre of the ceiling. Power runs from the breaker to the 1st outlet on to the light then GFCI and then 2nd outlet.

With the fan in the middle of the ceiling I was hoping to run the power from 1st outlet to the fan, then the light then the GFCI and finally the 2nd outlet. I will run 14/2 direct from the light to the switch and 14/2 direct from the fan to the 2nd switch.

Does this help?

Thanks
If you want switch loops that works fine ... note that 2011 code requires a neutral to show up in the switch box. You may be on a different code cycle.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:18 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Branch circuit


Passed rough in and final electrical... Thanks for the help guys

powdaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen circuit re-design - Existing is a mess darlingm Electrical 5 12-31-2011 09:45 PM
Sizing Motor Branch Circuit Conductors and OCPD's electures Electrical 5 06-22-2011 11:32 PM
How to wire three switches on one circuit Abs777 Electrical 12 03-25-2010 03:15 PM
Adding a branch circuit help glover10604 Electrical 8 09-09-2008 01:40 PM
Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS nave Electrical 45 05-29-2008 06:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.