Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2008, 06:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Brake Light


Could someone please tell me how to install a brake light on my motorbike? It use to be a fully working bike with lights and everything but was then stripped down. I can find the brake light wires under the seat but i don't want to take the bike apart until i get instruction on how to install the light. Can someone please help?
Thanks.

sd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 08:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Brake Light


You will have 3 wires brake,taillight and ground. To save time hook the ground up and turn on your lights. Hook the other wires to your light one at a time. The light that is the dimmest is your tail light the brightest will be the brake.Hook it to the wire that does not have power on it. When you mash the brake it should work.

BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 06:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Brake Light


Do i need to buy a specific kind of light designed for brakes or can i use something cheaper? As i said, it hasn't got any lights at all at the moment (except for a dolphin torch i mounted as a headlight) because it was used as a farm bike for 20 odd years and was very badly treated. When it was given to us it didn't work so we took it all apart and got it working but there were no lights.

Is it as simple as hooking the brighter light wire (brake wire) to the light? What did you mean by "hook it to the wire that does not have power on it?

Thanks for your reply
sd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 06:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Brake Light


When you have the lights on the tail light wire will have power the brake will not until you mash the brake. Any cheap light will work. Is it 12V or 6V. To tell the difference the battery will have 6 caps for 12V and 3 caps for 6V.
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Brake Light


We took the battery out because it didn't work any more but we will buy one. The headlight is just a torch (doesn't look great but works perfect) and isn't connected to a battery. If i am only going to have the brake light attatched to it, so i will probably get a very cheap battery. Does it matter what type of battery i get.

I just remembered that i will have to connect the battery somehow to keep it charged. Seeing as it used to have a battery and lights i am assuming that it has connections to keep it charged. Do you know how to do this?
sd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 10:53 PM   #6
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

Brake Light


is it 12 volts or 6 volts? Either get a test light, or a meter and test each wire to ground
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 11:22 PM   #7
Newbie
 
homework's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Brake Light


What make and model is bike ?
homework is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 11:36 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Brake Light


Its a very old Yamaha 100 ag bike. Im not really sure about all the specs but i do know that.
sd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 01:34 AM   #9
Newbie
 
homework's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Brake Light


I am not 100% sure on one that old but most yamaha's
black= ground
yellow= brake light
blue=taillight
brown=left turn
green=right turn

since lights were removed check to make sure there is still brake light switches, one at rear pedal and one on front hand lever, and that they are still hooked up.
homework is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 03:15 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Brake Light


What do those switches look like and how should i check if they are still working?
sd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 08:21 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Brake Light


Here's specs on an old fashioned parking/brake light. The brake filament uses 1.8A.

#1034 MINIATURE BULB BAY15D BASE - 12.8/14.0 Volt 1.80/0.59 Amp

I never understood why they didn't spec both filaments at normal alternator output voltage (14.4v +/- 1v), but that's another story.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 05:08 PM   #12
Newbie
 
homework's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Brake Light


the one on the lever is mounted in or underneath the perch.
it should have two wires coming out of it.
the one on the pedal is mounted just above the pedal pivot it has two wires also.
both will be open when no brake is applied and closed when brake is applied.

homework is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM
Whirlpool Microwave light issue mustangcobra44 Appliances 8 08-14-2008 03:52 PM
Need to replace can light with standard light Woodcutter Electrical 3 02-29-2008 07:06 AM
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 09:44 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.