Brain Fart - Switch To Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2014, 08:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


I feel SO stupid for asking this question, but I can't seem to remember correctly.

I am adding under-cabinet lighting, and figured to just add a new breaker for the circuit (why not). After I install the breaker, I want to make sure my wiring is correct. Here's how I have it:

Breaker to switch (black/black connected on both screws...white pigtailed to outlet)
Outlet received black wire from switch. Where does the white wire go? To the other terminal of the outlet, and just stop? Do I need any wires going BACK to the breaker other than the original wires to the switch?

I figured I'd just have both outlets wired to the switch in case I want to add upper cabinet lighting one day.

Advertisement

jbryla24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 08:24 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


The white will go to one silver screw on the receptacle.

Where are these receptacles being installed?

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 08:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


So the white wire doesn't need to return to the breaker panel, correct? Everything just terminates at the outlet?

The receptacle is being installed inside one of the cabinets.

Congrats to the previous owners for having a custom paint-job in the kitchen making it impossible for me to easily run cable through the wall.
jbryla24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 750
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


The white and ground wires from the receptacle both need to go back to the breaker box and connect to the ground buss and neutral buss. The neutral also needs to go to the switchbox, the new NEC requires that all switch boxes have a neutral conductor in them.
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


So we in essence need to close the loop by bringing the neutral and ground back to the breaker box, even though it started there? I was always under the impression that we can end the black and white wires at the receptacles when the chain is finished.
jbryla24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


I understand this is a DIY site but some things you just need to hire out if you do not understand Electricity 101
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rosem637 For This Useful Post:
Bernie Brewer (01-23-2014), Bondo (01-23-2014)
Old 01-22-2014, 11:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,701
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


Is there an outlet on this same circuit ?
You said you ran a new line from the panel ?
Do have a white and a black at the switch ?
Where does this white at the switch originate from ?
Does it comes from the panel neutral buss ?

Last edited by dmxtothemax; 01-22-2014 at 11:36 PM.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 07:46 AM   #8
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,814
Rewards Points: 2,262
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbryla24 View Post
So we in essence need to close the loop by bringing the neutral and ground back to the breaker box, even though it started there? I was always under the impression that we can end the black and white wires at the receptacles when the chain is finished.
Ayuh,.... The white wire 'tween the switch, 'n outlet gets tied to the dead-ended white wire at the switch box that comes from the breaker,...
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:58 AM   #9
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


I highly recommend an electrician...this is pretty basic stuff that should be known before even touching electrical...

The white, black, and green (or bare copper), is your neutral, hot, and ground.

ALL must be connected to the breaker panel. Black to the breaker, white to the neutral bar, and ground to the ground bar (if it is a main panel, you'll see the ground and neutral on the same bar, follow the rest of the colors in your panel.

From there, the ground gets chained to any ground screw in the circuit, just pigtailed (wire nutted) on to the switch. Neutral passes through the switch box without being tied to anything...just wire nut the 2 neutrals together.

The outlet has the white connected to silver, black to brass, and the green to the ground.
Attached Thumbnails
Brain Fart - switch to outlet-breaker.jpg  
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to seansy59 For This Useful Post:
jbryla24 (01-23-2014)
Old 01-23-2014, 11:48 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SE Pa.
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by seansy59 View Post
... Neutral passes through the switch box ...

Why not show it that way on the drawing?
agoodboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 11:53 AM   #11
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by agoodboy View Post
Why not show it that way on the drawing?
It is shown...the neutral (gray color) is wire nutted passing through at the switch point...

Didn't think I would have to draw a box around the switch part...thought that would be pretty self explanatory...
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SE Pa.
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by seansy59 View Post
...
Didn't think I would have to draw a box around the switch part...thought that would be pretty self explanatory...
But if we are saying the OP needs help with the most basic stuff, thenů? But I agree, no real biggy.
agoodboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to agoodboy For This Useful Post:
seansy59 (01-23-2014)
Old 01-23-2014, 12:20 PM   #13
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by agoodboy View Post
But if we are saying the OP needs help with the most basic stuff, thenů? But I agree, no real biggy.
You've got a good point...
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:14 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Brain Fart - switch to outlet


That's what I had going--thanks everyone! Like I said, I've just had a major brain fart lately. I haven't done wiring for a few years and have a lot going on otherwise at the house. Had that wiring configuration, but just wanted to double check--that's all.

Much appreciated!

Advertisement

jbryla24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cabinet , led , outlet , switch , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper Wiring Power to Outlet to 3-Way switch to lighte msandrbs Electrical 7 12-10-2013 01:58 AM
Electric outlet / light on same switch Fieldy1123 Electrical 17 10-06-2012 04:26 PM
Removing an end of the line outlet from the light switch lovetobuild Electrical 13 09-02-2012 01:07 PM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 01:31 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts