Brain Dead Help Me Out Here - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 09:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Guys,

My old house project has gotten me to the point of being so tired I can't think straight, with very little time to analyze the situation.

Here's the deal:

I disconnected a switch/gfci box in the kitchen in order to put in a bigger box as the old one was way too small. I didn't diagram the connections, and now it's time to put it back. Seems simple, but I can't seem to determine the connections. Five 2-wire cables enter box, with one from the panel. Below is the image I drew, with the prospective connections. Can anyone help me find any problems? I am just guessing (without putting a lot of thought into it, about the loads.

The bolded lines indicate tails.

Advertisement

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:14 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Guys,

My old house project has gotten me to the point of being so tired I can't think straight, with very little time to analyze the situation.

Here's the deal:

I disconnected a switch/gfci box in the kitchen in order to put in a bigger box as the old one was way too small. I didn't diagram the connections, and now it's time to put it back. Seems simple, but I can't seem to determine the connections. Five 2-wire cables enter box, with one from the panel. Below is the image I drew, with the prospective connections. Can anyone help me find any problems? I am just guessing (without putting a lot of thought into it, about the loads.

The bolded lines indicate tails.
You have the black wires tied to the load terminal but not the whites for the same cables.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Oh god, I think I see it. The 3rd cable (bottom) is on the Load neutral, and I need it nutted with the other whites, and tailed to the load neutral, correct?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:49 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Wrong, if the hot is on the load the neutral has to be on the load. You have a white wire nutted to the incoming neutral that should be nutted to the wire leaving the load neutral.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Wrong, if the hot is on the load
The hot isn't on the Load, it's on the Line. ??
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


All protected loads, whose hot wires are connected to the GFCI load terminal group, must have their neutrals also connected to the GFCI load terminal.

All (unprotected) loads, whose hot wires are connected to the GFCI line terminal group, must have their neutrals also connected to the GFCI line terminal group.

(Power cable, both hot and neutral, goes to the line terminal group.)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-09-2012 at 09:58 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:56 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
The hot isn't on the Load, it's on the Line. ??
Then your drawing is wrong.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:58 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
All protected loads, whose hot wires are connected to the GFCI load terminal group, must have their neutrals also connected to the GFCI load terminal.

All (unprotected) loads, whose hot wires are connected to the GFCI line terminal group, must have their neutrals also connected to the GFCI line terminal group.
So, I am going to have to trace these loads? I know the light isn't to be protected, so that's cleared. I'm thinking that only two more receptacles are to be protected. (I'm not at the property right now, so I'm only recalling).
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:00 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Then your drawing is wrong.
How do you see the hot going to the load? Stay with me here lol
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:28 PM   #10
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
How do you see the hot going to the load? Stay with me here lol
Follow from the red wire nut to the receptacle and it says load. The load side is GFCI Hot and Neutral. This feeds downstream GFCI protected devices.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:07 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


your pulling the neutral off the line and pulling the hots off the gfci protected side of the plug. you need to wire nut the hots and whites of each cable respectively to the same side of the gfci (line or load) or else the gfci won't function properly
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:36 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Can I get an Amen on this?


Last edited by sirsparksalot; 05-10-2012 at 01:58 AM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 06:03 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 1,356
Default

Brain Dead Help Me Out Here


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Can I get an Amen on this?

That setup will protect 3 outgoing cables if that's what you are wanting to do.

Advertisement

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to revive dead lawn... deevahs Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 05-13-2010 01:34 PM
Dead Breaker? and Nusiance Tripping... jasonblu Electrical 9 11-06-2009 07:13 PM
Outlet is dead but ears are hot!? Whassup? Hubandwif Electrical 33 03-23-2009 09:01 PM
A new definition to being High-wired: Shark Off Topic 1 03-27-2008 06:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts