Bracket Will Not Fit In Light Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2014, 07:36 PM   #1
Member
 
bobgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Picked up a couple of those LED motion security lights from C*stco, and the included bracket will not fit a standard size light box. Are there oversize light box options out there, or am I going to have to cut these screws with my grinder? The screws protrude too far once the light is placed on top and the nuts will not fasten down all the way, so the light isn't sealed tightly to the top rim of the light box.

The light will be placed outside, under the eaves. As you can see from the pictures, the screws either need to be able to be backed off a bit but they physically cannot go inside the box any further; or they need to be trimmed.

How would you all approach this? Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Bracket will not fit in light box-20140101_162558-1-.jpg   Bracket will not fit in light box-20140101_162641.jpg  

Advertisement

bobgodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 08:11 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Find the correct length and cut the screws. Or you can purposely orientate the box so that the mounting holes on the box line up with the cover and the fixture will sit straight. Then there would be no need for the bracket.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-02-2014)
Old 01-01-2014, 08:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


cut the screws
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 08:55 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,335
Rewards Points: 3,464
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Struble View Post
cut the screws
It is that simple. Cut the screws.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 08:59 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Cut just the heads off. They look like the screw shafts will fit inside the box.

Funny, I never had this problem with a RAB fixture.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 09:38 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


I love a fixture company that makes a bracket so the screws land on the box edge... simply brilliant!

personally, I would support the fixture with other methods if it's a large fixture.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 10:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,699
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Cut the screws !
Or buy some shorter screws !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 10:38 PM   #8
Member
 
bobgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I love a fixture company that makes a bracket so the screws land on the box edge... simply brilliant!

personally, I would support the fixture with other methods if it's a large fixture.
That's not even the worst part... Because part of the bracket is raised, the body of the light does not sit tight against the light box. If I hadn't already ground off part of bracket, I'd return it.
bobgodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 11:48 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobgodd View Post
That's not even the worst part... Because part of the bracket is raised, the body of the light does not sit tight against the light box. If I hadn't already ground off part of bracket, I'd return it.
Why not just cut the heads off the screws, thread them into the box, and re drill the fixture if needed... I would avoid using the fixture bar, this is why electricians get paid, we are problem solvers.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 11:49 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,335
Rewards Points: 3,464
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Return it anyway.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 11:50 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Return it anyway.
WHY? Just install the fixture.... You think electricians get that option? lol...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 12:01 AM   #12
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Why not just cut the heads off the screws, thread them into the box, and re drill the fixture if needed... I would avoid using the fixture bar, this is why electricians get paid, we are problem solvers.


thanks for that one..
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 12:05 AM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Bracket will not fit in light box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Struble View Post


thanks for that one..
And DIY sites exists for what reason? Oh yeah, because people are so intelligent to start with....

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Wiring vanity light fixture into outlet? qwiksilvertrav Electrical 16 02-24-2013 02:16 PM
Light Wiring Question mataguri Electrical 4 11-09-2011 03:15 AM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 09:19 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-06-2008 12:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts