Boxes Required - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2009, 05:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Boxes required


I often see no electrical box installed in a wall where there is a light fixture like in a bathroom. The NM cable pops out of a hole in the wall and then into the light fixture. The fixture usually has a metal plate attached to the wall and then the cover with the lamps attached to it goes on next. I believe Article 300.15 requires a box for this install....am I right?

I do know there is an exception if the liminaire is listed for use as a raceway. But how common is that? I've put in some round cut-in boxes to remedy this problem, but the box would show after the fixture was installed.

You guys who do this for a living run into this same scenario? What do you do?

Advertisement

Steelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:40 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Boxes required


The fixture used must be rated to contain the wires. A flourescent fixture can have a cable clamp installed into it and then the fixture is the junction box.

Advertisement

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:51 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Boxes required


Do the fixtures normally say what they are rated for? Most of the fixtures in question are incandescent ones. 3-5 bulbs
Steelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Boxes required


If the wiring was completely contained in the fixture (like a fluorescent strip) I would have no problem installing it sans box.

I have no idea what the listing issues would be. I never actually look at the small print, I just use some common sense.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Boxes required


Thanks, I think I can figure out which fixtures will need boxes and which don't.
Steelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 09:40 PM
Boxes recessed too deep rondo Electrical 10 12-01-2012 07:46 PM
Mounting 3 gangable switch boxes mcvane Electrical 11 01-16-2009 09:43 PM
Installing 20 amp circuits in metal boxes, is 14 ga OK for ground pigtails? thegonagle Electrical 17 11-14-2008 08:34 AM
wiring outlet boxes, steel or plastic? DangerMouse Electrical 17 07-20-2008 01:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts