Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2007, 11:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


I've got a bit of a dilemma with walls that are thicker than what the original electrical layout allowed for. All of the boxes (switches, light fixtures, outlets, etc.) are anchored to studs and/or rafters and set at a depth that would be fitting for some thin paneling or drywall. There is now a thick knotty pine tongue and groove planking in place so all of the boxes are now set rather deep, meaning the outlets and switches, etc., will be recessed considerably. When the cover plate is put on it will not draw flush with the outlet or switch. Is there any way to shim the switches, etc., out as opposed to trying to move all of the boxes forward? If not shims do they make/sell switches and outlets for this type of problem? I sure don't want to try and move all of the boxes.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

rondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 12:16 PM   #2
Lehigh Valley PA
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 76
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


They make extensions that you may be able to use for your boxes.
They mount to where the switches or outlets would and extend the box out to meet the new wall.

You would have to check how deep you need and see if there is a depth that would work for your situation. I'm sure there is something that can get you close.

Here is an example of what I'm talking about:

http://www.bwfmfg.com/outlet-extensions-adapters.html

http://www.bizrate.com/electricalsup...542026295.html


Last edited by Nhrafan; 04-03-2007 at 12:19 PM. Reason: N/A
Nhrafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 12:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


I got similar problem with some of mind... the only solution I find is move the box out a bit... I will watching as well... I know there is something call box extender etc... but that definitely an overkill I believe...


base on the link above, looks like the extension is for 1" minium depth extension... that probably too much ....

Last edited by KUIPORNG; 04-03-2007 at 12:35 PM.
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 03:54 PM   #4
Diesel Fitter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


hold a shim down behind the top ears of the receptical tighten the screw till slight bit tight, float the bottom screw about 1/16 behind the wall surface use a metal plate and you should be able to get the mounting screw to catch If the outlet screws are too short you may want to use extenders or just get longer screws the first is the proper way

Last edited by mikemy6; 04-03-2007 at 04:04 PM.
mikemy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 04:19 PM   #5
Diesel Fitter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


I think the most typical extender is 1/2" Ku.
mikemy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 04:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


mikemy6,

Please do not give unsafe advice. It makes us all look bad. The code says that the face of the box must be flush with the finish surface of the wall or less than 1/8 inch recessed.

We do not care what hack tricks work for you. We care about giving professional advice.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 04:40 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


I agree with Jwhite. This is NOT a safe solution.

There are box extenders that will work. I use Arlington BE1's, BE2's and BER's.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 05:11 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Thumbs up

Boxes recessed too deep


Thanks everyone. The box extenders sound perfect to me, and that's how I'm gonna go with this.
rondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 06:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


Is there any solution other than replacing with deeper box? My GFI with the wire connections sits outside of the box a good half inch and I can not push it in any further. I could secure the GFI to the box using an extender and longer screws, but because the GFI is outside, the weather proof cover will cover the GFI surface but then there will be a gap between the box and GFI that is not covered nor weather proof. Any suggestions? Hope this dilemma makes sense. Thanks.
starrapido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 06:31 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


You should really start a new thread rather than replying to a 5 1/2 year old thread.

Yes, they make weatherproof extension boxes.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=weatherproof+extension+box
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 06:46 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Boxes recessed too deep


Thanks k-Buz

starrapido is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 08:40 PM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 01:35 PM
recessed lighting in basement DIY4EVER Electrical 6 06-29-2007 02:52 PM
Recessed light plan foiled? kcrossley2 Electrical 8 03-14-2007 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.