Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2012, 12:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Box sizing


I am doing some box sizing calculations, and am a little stumped.

Lets say you have a receptacle which pigtails to another receptacle. So you have power in, power out, and the device.

By my calculations this is:

4 - hots and neutrals
1 - ground
1 - clamps
2 - device
= 8

If its all #14 then you need 16 cu.in box. Most standard receptacle boxes are 12.5 cu.in.

http://www.homedepot.ca/product/devi...-welded/914369

Does this mean that a standard box cannot even be used unless its an end point? Am I missing something?

zubor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 02:11 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,748
Default

Box sizing


In Canada you have to figure the wire nuts also.
That box with a 14/2 feed would have 2+2+2+2+4=12 cu.
2 for the hot, 2 for the neutral, 2 for the ground, 4 for the device, and 2 for the internal clamp.

You need to double your hot and neutral from 4 to 8 since you have an in and out cable, so the min. box is 16 cu.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 09-05-2012 at 02:16 PM.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Default

Box sizing


I can't seem to find any mention of clamps or ground wires in the CEC

Only 1 for every insulated conductor, 1 for every pair of wire nuts, 2 for every device

Am I missing something?
zubor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:39 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Box sizing


That is not a standard box in the US, and I doubt it is a standard box in Canada.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Properly Sizing a Water Softener zerious Plumbing 33 05-15-2012 06:32 PM
Cabin Roof Design and Beam Sizing RCNC225 Building & Construction 0 01-25-2012 10:54 AM
Sizing a dual shut off valve for a water line to fridge ericman Plumbing 10 08-19-2011 09:47 PM
Sizing Motor Branch Circuit Conductors and OCPD's electures Electrical 5 06-22-2011 11:32 PM
Sizing a furnace - can't find one small enough Jim W HVAC 30 05-13-2009 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.