Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 12:02 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


I thought I had already posted this, but I guess not cause I can't find it.

What is the box fill requirement for a 120/240V Dryer receptacle? This is on a 30-a circuit with 10-3, and using 14-30 receptacle and Dryer cord.

What I'm needing is a plastic remodel box, if they're available. I didn't see any Carlons on a Home Depot online search.

I'm thinking the one pic'd below is too small.


sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:22 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


do you like this one better?




that's just a 2 gang old work (remodel) box. CARLON HOME PRODUCTS # BH234R

just check to be sure the recep will mount on a 2 gang box (no screw bosses in the middle, There are two sets, each offset from the center so as to accommodate 2 switches, receps, whatever). I believe they are designed for the screw offset of a 2 gang box.
well heck. The image doesn't want to post.

go here http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/...ll=yes&sortBy=

and scroll down to just about the very bottom

never mind. Now it posted.


Last edited by nap; 05-02-2011 at 12:24 AM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (05-02-2011)
Old 05-02-2011, 12:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


hmm, don't know if that will work or not, Nap, because of the screw mounting. Is there a mud ring or some such to fill the obvious gap in the box?

"Screw boss"? never heard of such a contraption, but I've used those words in phrases several times

Com'on, Nap, what do you use for these flush mounted receptacles?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 01:04 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


I have used the old work box for dryer receptale as well just be extra carefull when you mount the box make sure you get them good and tight it will fit in nice.

Otherwise I go old school is use the deepwell 4X4 box { actaully 4X4X2 1/8 inch } and screw it to the stud that useally do the trick otherwise may have to make a cross brace to support the box.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (05-02-2011)
Old 05-02-2011, 01:08 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I have used the old work box for dryer receptale as well just be extra carefull when you mount the box make sure you get them good and tight it will fit in nice.

Otherwise I go old school is use the deepwell 4X4 box { actaully 4X4X2 1/8 inch } and screw it to the stud that useally do the trick otherwise may have to make a cross brace to support the box.

Merci,
Marc
yeah, Marc, I'd like the 4x4, but I don't see any "old-work" 4s. I'll figer something out

thanks
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 01:09 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


@NAP Thanks for that Website link. They seem to cover about everything. It is now in my Favorites!!
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
nap (05-02-2011)
Old 05-02-2011, 01:16 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
yeah, Marc, I'd like the 4x4, but I don't see any "old-work" 4s. I'll figer something out

thanks
I am pretty sure they have a 4X4 old work plate to fit on the 4X4 box and I know I did use couple before for the Fire Alarm devices.

Let me dig up a link or duex and this item I am pretty sure that item is not useally found in big box store at all I know electrical supply centre will have this on hand.

Ici le link

I hope that will help you on this one.

Merci,.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (05-02-2011)
Old 05-02-2011, 01:20 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


Thanks, Marc
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 06:15 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


A two-gang box is standard issue for a dryer receptacle, as is a two-gang sized plate.
You do NOT need a 4x4 box with mud rings and all. Besides, good luck trying to find one.

Use the box shown in post #2. Better yet, get a two-gang "Smart Box" and attach it to a stud.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 06:24 AM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


If you want to use a 4x4 box you could use an old-work metal box with madison straps:

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 07:17 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


No need for madisons with this style.

http://www.arlcatalog.com/Fan_Specia...Gang%20Box.htm
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 07:22 AM   #12
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


2 gang plastic boxes are used all the time, they will be listed for 220 volt
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:36 AM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Box Size for Dryer Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
hmm, don't know if that will work or not, Nap, because of the screw mounting. Is there a mud ring or some such to fill the obvious gap in the box?

"Screw boss"? never heard of such a contraption, but I've used those words in phrases several times

Com'on, Nap, what do you use for these flush mounted receptacles?
the screw "boss" is simply the little nub with the hole in it for the screws to screw into. As to fitting into that box; that is why I said make sure the recep you get will fit a 2 gang box. I did a quick look on the 'net and it would appear it is common for a dryer recep to have mounting holes for a 2 gang box.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 08:32 AM
pre-hung door, 32x80 is that door size or total size? RyanD Building & Construction 3 06-28-2009 10:33 PM
Wiring timer from receptacle intotao Electrical 7 01-21-2009 08:57 AM
Range Receptacle tate16t Electrical 11 11-16-2008 02:14 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.