Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2011, 08:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Box Size


What is the minimum size box that can be used for 2- 12-2 romex and 1 14-2 romex and an outlet, entering an outlet?

thetford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:56 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Box Size


19.75 cu/in minimum box volume.

WHY would you have two 12/2 and one 14/2 in a single box with one device?

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Box Size


I am using a 14-2 going to the light from the switch.
thetford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:22 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Box Size


If it is a 20 amp circuit then ALL the cable must be #12. If you use the 14/2 you must be on a 15 amp circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Box Size


Sorry, I am doing this for my husband and I haven't taken the time to figure this site out !! Will check with the forum first, next time!
thetford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:39 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Box Size


Very common DIY mistake, and it IS a mistake that should be corrected.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:39 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,129
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Box Size


Petey, looks like they are gathering info over time. This is the third post regarding the same subject in the lines of Electrical. From looking at a previous, it is in regards to a Kitchen. Not something that I would want to see in the end.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:40 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Box Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Petey, looks like they are gathering info over time. This is the third post regarding the same subject in the lines of Electrical. From looking at a previous, it is in regards to a Kitchen. Not something that I would want to see in the end.
Ouch. I hadn't noticed.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:07 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,129
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Box Size


I had to go back and look at the OP posts, and it does not look pretty. From the looks of it, what ever they are doing should be on DIY Renovation Realities.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:27 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Box Size


What are you saying? Exactly?

thetford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Determining Boot/Register Size Earnie HVAC 15 12-31-2009 05:00 PM
Building a patio cover...span and size of lumber Q's jongordo8 Building & Construction 1 08-30-2009 12:08 AM
pre-hung door, 32x80 is that door size or total size? RyanD Building & Construction 3 06-28-2009 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.