Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
Member
 
msaeger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 262
Rewards Points: 250
Default

box for phone / network / cable


Here's probably a dumb question but is there a special box I should use for phone / network / cable or just a regular single gang box?

msaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,619
Rewards Points: 1,112
Default

box for phone / network / cable


They make low voltage frames and a wide assortment of devices and cover plates. The frames come in remodel or nail on.
Attached Images
 

Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
mysterd429 (10-11-2012)
Old 10-10-2012, 01:10 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

box for phone / network / cable


The LV ring shown avoids issues with bend radius on the cables. Regular device boxes are too small to avoid sharp bends.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:48 PM   #4
Member
 
msaeger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 262
Rewards Points: 250
Default

box for phone / network / cable


What should I do to keep the wire out of the drywall guys way? I suppose I could just tape it to the stud until the sheetrock is up.
msaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:54 PM   #5
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

box for phone / network / cable


Use Romex staples and lightly staple them to the stud and to the bottom plate. When the drywall hacks are done cut in the LV ring reach in and pull outthe LV wires. Works great.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:53 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

box for phone / network / cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by msaeger View Post
Here's probably a dumb question but is there a special box I should use for phone / network / cable or just a regular single gang box?
The Short answer is a regular old single gang box will work. The Orange ring another posted published is called an "old work ring". In other words that ring is used when your installing low-voltage wires into an already existing, complete wall.

Its unclear if you're in a "under construction" situation or "existing construction"

So, yes, a single gang box will work but you need the "correct" single gang box based on new v existing.

Keep these tips into account and here's a link that you might find to have some useful info http://allabouthomeelectronics.com/s...ed-wiring.html.

One posting wrote the drywallers will hack the lines when hanging sheet rock and he is very right. Its super frustrating to start to hang finish plates only to find your wires shredded and they will be shredded if you let em hang out of the box.

If its new construction by all means label the wires. Use painters tape and a marker if you have to. Make sure the wire and label are concealed and tape the box off, taping from the inside of the box so its easier to remove. If you don't then texture and paint will get all over the wires and you'll have more work to clean the mess from your floors not to mention tracing wires out if you have a lot of wires.

There are a variety of boxes you can use from: single gang to low voltage nail on to low voltage clamp/stick on. If you're going for cheap $ and easy use a single gang but if you want a cleaner look "consider" the other option.

PS: Coax "loves" to get caught up even in the big wire staple if you nail "to the bottom plate of the wall studs" so you really want to take care to do the nailing correct (leave a big gap so the wire slides very freely). What I do in that case is, depending on my application (ie: finish plates & multiple wires connected to one plate) is use open ended new work box and cut the wires to the length so they just touch the bottom plate and put the last staple 2" or so from the bottom plate but nailed into the stud
Everet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:09 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

box for phone / network / cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by Everet View Post
The Short answer is a regular old single gang box will work. The Orange ring another posted published is called an "old work ring". In other words that ring is used when your installing low-voltage wires into an already existing, complete wall.

Its unclear if you're in a "under construction" situation or "existing construction"

So, yes, a single gang box will work but you need the "correct" single gang box based on new v existing.

Keep these tips into account and here's a link that you might find to have some useful info http://allabouthomeelectronics.com/s...ed-wiring.html.

One posting wrote the drywallers will hack the lines when hanging sheet rock and he is very right. Its super frustrating to start to hang finish plates only to find your wires shredded and they will be shredded if you let em hang out of the box.

If its new construction by all means label the wires. Use painters tape and a marker if you have to. Make sure the wire and label are concealed and tape the box off, taping from the inside of the box so its easier to remove. If you don't then texture and paint will get all over the wires and you'll have more work to clean the mess from your floors not to mention tracing wires out if you have a lot of wires.

There are a variety of boxes you can use from: single gang to low voltage nail on to low voltage clamp/stick on. If you're going for cheap $ and easy use a single gang but if you want a cleaner look "consider" the other option.

PS: Coax "loves" to get caught up even in the big wire staple if you nail "to the bottom plate of the wall studs" so you really want to take care to do the nailing correct (leave a big gap so the wire slides very freely). What I do in that case is, depending on my application (ie: finish plates & multiple wires connected to one plate) is use open ended new work box and cut the wires to the length so they just touch the bottom plate and put the last staple 2" or so from the bottom plate but nailed into the stud
The person that posted said the LV rings were available in both new and old work construction.

A device box does not allow for the proper bend radius of the cables to be maintained and performance can be degraded.

If the drywallers are hacking your wires it sounds like someone did not properly dress the cables in the stud bay.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:21 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

box for phone / network / cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The person that posted said the LV rings were available in both new and old work construction.

A device box does not allow for the proper bend radius of the cables to be maintained and performance can be degraded.

If the drywallers are hacking your wires it sounds like someone did not properly dress the cables in the stud bay.
Correct. The photo posted however is of an old work box....was simply clarifying that for a lay person

Using a cheap single gang box will not cause a identified, appreciable "performance". Maybe its in writing somewhere but in practice it works and its alot less costly to cut the back of the box off if you have alot of wires. In terms of coax you can gently push the excess coax out the back.

Again, a lay person's question....therefore the info about "dressing" wires given its unknown whether project is new or existing....seemed like appropriate info to forward
Everet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:20 PM   #9
Member
 
msaeger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 262
Rewards Points: 250
Default

box for phone / network / cable


I got a box like the one posted but for new work. I just taped the three wires together and looped them around the top hole.

Hopefully they don't cut them they are are a few inches back from the front of the box.

Thanks for the help.

Name:  SC100A.jpeg
Views: 72
Size:  7.6 KB

msaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aerial Cable to Garage & Adding Sub Panel CDW59 Electrical 5 12-09-2011 06:43 AM
Electrician best practice questions mudworm Electrical 32 11-12-2011 01:59 PM
Need Advice Old Metal NM Cable Anchors bltglt507 Electrical 15 12-18-2009 04:31 PM
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 09:10 AM
Please Help - Weird electrical issue affecting home network sxpsxpsxp Electrical 23 02-03-2008 11:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.