Box Hell - Is This Correct? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2013, 10:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Rewards Points: 250
Default

box hell - is this correct?


http://imageshack.us/a/img845/3389/wwcv.jpg

Aye. I'll explain. Top right is 12/2 power in. Middle top is 12/2 to porch light. Top left is 12/3 for a 3 way switch going to the dining room light. Bottom right is 12/2 going to an exterior outlet. This isn't being fed off the dining room SABC btw, just for clarification. 32cu in box.

This blew my mind so I tried to work through it, and I can see it's going to be a royal PITA to shove into the box. Before I shove it all in, I just want to make sure this is correct. I'm not at all sure if this is correct.

Advertisement

Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:15 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

box hell - is this correct?


What is not correct ???
Elaborate please !

Did it work ?

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

box hell - is this correct?


looks a little tight , why 12 & not14 gauge? btw i've seen far worse.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Rewards Points: 250
Default

box hell - is this correct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by circuitman View Post
looks a little tight , why 12 & not14 gauge? btw i've seen far worse.
20amp circuit
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:17 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,055
Rewards Points: 2,908
Default

box hell - is this correct?


You can use the green grounding wire nuts and leave one long tail to ground the switches.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (10-07-2013)
Old 10-07-2013, 05:45 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

box hell - is this correct?


I would undo it, make up your neutrals and push them out of the way.

Make up your grounds and leave a pig tail(s) push them in out of the way, while staggering the wire nuts.


Make up your hot with pigtails and push out of the way, leaving only the wires going to your switches hanging out.

After connecting your switches, pre-bend the wires so they will fall in place.

Make sure your wires are not too long.

If your going to be doing a lot of this, you may want to purchase some of these for your grounds to eliminate those big red nuts.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:51 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

box hell - is this correct?


Also, it looks like your grounding and feed pigtails are too short.

You may want to make them longer to allow more flexibility.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:19 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

box hell - is this correct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
I would undo it, make up your neutrals and push them out of the way.

Make up your grounds and leave a pig tail(s) push them in out of the way, while staggering the wire nuts.


Make up your hot with pigtails and push out of the way, leaving only the wires going to your switches hanging out.

After connecting your switches, pre-bend the wires so they will fall in place.

Make sure your wires are not too long.

If your going to be doing a lot of this, you may want to purchase some of these for your grounds to eliminate those big red nuts.
It you use those, you will need to buy the right crimp tool. I'm tired of seeing those just mashed with side cutters.

Mark

Advertisement

__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to busman For This Useful Post:
itsnotrequired (10-07-2013), Jim Port (10-07-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct to HOT/NEU Reverse in camper. jpaytoncfd Electrical 6 07-20-2012 01:16 AM
Need Advice on how to Correct Low Water Pressure Joe Tilghman Plumbing 51 04-13-2012 01:11 PM
What correct mix for building a stone foundation wall? & correct mix for stone fireplace. world travler Building & Construction 0 08-04-2011 07:39 PM
IS it correct? allawi Building & Construction 3 11-09-2009 07:49 AM
Correct oil level in Bristol compressor Aptguy HVAC 5 08-26-2009 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts