Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2007, 06:06 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Box height?


Yeah I have worked for companies that made thier measurements to the bottom of the box as well as the top of the box, and some to the middle of the box, so it can be confusing sometimes, you just gotta ask lots of questions when you start working with someone like what was said before, so you can get used to thier "style". I dont recommend using hammer lengths to measure boxes. My personal preference is to have receptacles 18" to the top, 48" to the top for switches, and i will drill my holes at 24 inches across the wall by snapping a line, keeps your holes lined up, so wires run straight you will always know where they are and as long as you staple your wires below the holes for receptacles you will always be within code for securing them. If you are laying out boxes based on prints though you should go by thier specifications. Most prints for commercial jobs specify a measurement to the center of the box unless otherwise stated in my experiences. Remember always ask plenty of questions to make sure you are on the same page. It will show you care about the quality and accuracy of your work. They will sometimes act annoyed, but it is easier to do it right the first time then have to go back and fix it. There are people in the trade that have been doing this for several years, when they switch companies they will still be asking questions, because there are more ways than one to meet code, for instance I have noticed when wiring up a/c units some use UF cable to the unit and some use romex run through liquidtight conduit. Btw some of the biggest a-holes i have ever worked for turned out to be the best teachers also, and we argued like a married couple , then became good friends, all I had to do was show dedication to the learning the trade.

RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 06:34 PM   #17
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box height?


Romex thru liquid tight would not be a way to meet code.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 06:51 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Box height?


Well that was how they told me to do it, never really looked into it. Can I get a code reference? I have also been told that mc cable w/ground through emt is permitted although not a common method. Teach me something andy. I am here to learn

btw the inspector says its not listed but it is approved, whatever that means....

Last edited by RichyL; 12-11-2007 at 07:19 PM.
RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 07:10 PM   #19
Electrician Apprentice
 
puma1277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Box height?


After reading what all you guy’s posted, it really got me thinking maybe I over reacted about my boss.

Jogr, and Richyl made some good points in their posts

(Quote- Jogr - he hired me and that’s pretty nice and he’s the boss)

(Quote- Richyl - ask plenty of questions to make sure you are on the same page,
Some of the biggest a-holes I have ever worked for turned out to be the best teachers)
puma1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 07:20 PM   #20
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box height?


Keep in mind your boss probably really knows what he is doing... And is trying to earn a living and run a business.

But you can know the world about a subject... Trying to teach it to somebody else where they can understand it is an art.

Trust me, been there done that...

That doesnt give him an excuse for being rude, but talk to him and hang in there along with showing a genuine interest to learn the trade and grow as an employee..

It'll work out and he'll probably teach you alot more than you think your learning.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 08:37 PM   #21
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RichyL View Post
Well that was how they told me to do it, never really looked into it. Can I get a code reference? I have also been told that mc cable w/ground through emt is permitted although not a common method. Teach me something andy. I am here to learn

btw the inspector says its not listed but it is approved, whatever that means....
I'm hear to learn as well. The inspector is wrong. The inside of a raceway in a wet location is a wet location. This is why we HAVE to pull THHN/THWN in PVC outdoors. The 2008 clarifies things a bit.

300.9 Raceways in Wet Locations Above Grade. Where raceways are installed in wet locations abovegrade, the interior of these raceways shall be considered a wet location. Insulated conductors and cables installed in wet locations abovegrade shall comply with 310.8(C).


That being said, it was how I was taught and how I wired many an AC. That doesn't make it code, though. It doesn't make it code just 'cause the inspector doesn't know the code, either.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 09:55 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
I'm hear to learn as well. The inspector is wrong. The inside of a raceway in a wet location is a wet location. This is why we HAVE to pull THHN/THWN in PVC outdoors. The 2008 clarifies things a bit.

300.9 Raceways in Wet Locations Above Grade. Where raceways are installed in wet locations abovegrade, the interior of these raceways shall be considered a wet location. Insulated conductors and cables installed in wet locations abovegrade shall comply with 310.8(C).


That being said, it was how I was taught and how I wired many an AC. That doesn't make it code, though. It doesn't make it code just 'cause the inspector doesn't know the code, either.
Thanks for the clarification andy. Where i live the 2005 code is still in effect and 300.9 does not exist in the 2005 nec. As far as the 2005 code goes here is my dillemma. 356.10(2). article 100 definitions location, wet. It says a wet location is an unprotected location exposed to weather at the bottom example. and then the part in 356.10 that says liquidtight can be used where protection of contained conductors is required from liquids. For RNC it says pvc can be used for wet locations but does not say for where protection of conductors is required from liquids, so that is why I used thhw in those instances. Those 2 references I think is where the confusion lies. 300.9 from the 2008 is an important reference as it clears up the confusion. Well anyway thanks again, I have learned something new today, which was my goal for the day.

RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
code for determining retaining wall height mrdol General DIY Discussions 2 11-08-2007 03:47 PM
Height of Fence = Height of Posts Necessary Dallas Building & Construction 2 11-05-2007 10:47 AM
Vessel Sink height and faucet height KCourtland Plumbing 1 09-30-2007 08:39 PM
raising ceiling height during remodel marks Building & Construction 1 10-04-2006 02:58 PM
Joining laminate floors of different height. flyingmachine Flooring 5 09-13-2006 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.