Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2007, 10:31 AM   #1
Electrician Apprentice
 
puma1277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Share |
Default

Box height?


My boss asked me to nail receptacle outlet box(s) 18in from the floor, the problem is when he checked my work, he said the box(s) are to low. (I measured to the middle of the box.)

The question is, do you measure from the floor to the middle of the box or the bottom of the box?


Last edited by puma1277; 12-11-2007 at 11:23 AM.
puma1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 10:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,564
Default

Box height?


You do it however the boss says.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 11:16 AM   #3
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Box height?


As Jogr says!

Normal is 18 inches aff to the box center.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 01:16 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy View Post
Normal is 18 inches aff to the box center.
There is NO "normal". It's whatever you are used to doing or are told to do.

For new work I use 16" TTT (to the top) for general receptacles and 48" TTT for general switches.

In a renovation I match whatever exists.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 01:56 PM   #5
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Box height?


Some people use hammer handle lengths too...

Just dont get two guys in the same room setting boxes with different length hammers....

The "normal" looks pretty good!
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 02:44 PM   #6
Electrician Apprentice
 
puma1277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Default

Box height?


My boss has very few words (and yes, he's a Hole), when he asked me to put the box(s) 18in from the floor I assumed the measurement is from the floor to the center of the box.
Should I be measuring from floor to Top, Center, or Bottom
puma1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 02:52 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy View Post
Just dont get two guys in the same room setting boxes with different length hammers....
How about on the same job....
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 02:53 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by puma1277 View Post
Should I be measuring from floor to Top, Center, or Bottom
Yes.
What ever your boss tells you.
If he gets mad tell him you don't read minds and to give you more detail next time.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 02:58 PM   #9
Electrician Apprentice
 
puma1277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Default

Box height?


Quote:
If he gets mad tell him you don't read minds and to give you more detail next time.
Good advise Speedy, Thanks
puma1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 03:35 PM   #10
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Box height?


As long as they are in different rooms the hammers will work out fine!

But Puma, if you REALLY want to mess with your boss, tell him you were setting the boxes that height to be ADA compliant... They require 15 inch minimum and dont really specify bottom or center of the box...

You were just HELPIN him!


Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 03:58 PM   #11
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Box height?


Puma,

The guy is being a jerk. At my shop it is 18" to center and 46" to center.

If you and I were wiring a house, it would be the bottom of the box to the top of a 20 oz. Estwing hammer (of which we both would own) and 48" to the top.

The fact is the guy could be talking top, center, or bottom and be correct in his world which you get to live in for 8 hours.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 04:02 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,564
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by puma1277 View Post
My boss has very few words (and yes, he's a Hole),
No he's not, he hired you which was a pretty nice thing to do - right? He might be demanding, but he is the boss, he is accountable for his work (and yours) and has to make sure it's done right and that the company makes a good profit on it.

Now maybe he doesn't always know what you know and don't know, maybe he doesn't like to talk a lot and maybe he wouldn't get many style points but you can adapt to all that. Just ask short to the point questions about anything you aren't sure of. When he says "put these boxes in 18" high" that's your cue to say "right boss, 18" to the center of the box". He'll growl "no, to the top" and it will be ok cause that will be the last time you'll ever ask that question and he'll get his boxes where he wants them the first time.

Whatever you do don't beat around the bush and make a long winded speech about possible box heights, codes and your uncertainty about what he's asking. He's not there to gab and neither are you. And don't be the clueless new kid who is always trying to change the way things are done - you can do that later when they don't think of you as the clueless new kid. Once you've worked for him a while you'll probably find that you think he's pretty reasonable.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 04:17 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy View Post
As long as they are in different rooms the hammers will work out fine!
I hope this is a joke.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 04:54 PM   #14
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jogr View Post
No he's not, he hired you which was a pretty nice thing to do - right? He might be demanding, but he is the boss, he is accountable for his work (and yours) and has to make sure it's done right and that the company makes a good profit on it.

Now maybe he doesn't always know what you know and don't know, maybe he doesn't like to talk a lot and maybe he wouldn't get many style points but you can adapt to all that. Just ask short to the point questions about anything you aren't sure of. When he says "put these boxes in 18" high" that's your cue to say "right boss, 18" to the center of the box". He'll growl "no, to the top" and it will be ok cause that will be the last time you'll ever ask that question and he'll get his boxes where he wants them the first time.

Whatever you do don't beat around the bush and make a long winded speech about possible box heights, codes and your uncertainty about what he's asking. He's not there to gab and neither are you. And don't be the clueless new kid who is always trying to change the way things are done - you can do that later when they don't think of you as the clueless new kid. Once you've worked for him a while you'll probably find that you think he's pretty reasonable.

Jogr, you very well may be right...or maybe he IS just an ahole!
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 05:03 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Box height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
Jogr, you very well may be right...or maybe he IS just an ahole!
My thoughts exactly.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
code for determining retaining wall height mrdol General DIY Discussions 2 11-08-2007 02:47 PM
Height of Fence = Height of Posts Necessary Dallas Building & Construction 2 11-05-2007 09:47 AM
Vessel Sink height and faucet height KCourtland Plumbing 1 09-30-2007 07:39 PM
raising ceiling height during remodel marks Building & Construction 1 10-04-2006 01:58 PM
Joining laminate floors of different height. flyingmachine Flooring 5 09-13-2006 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.