Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 09:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


Hello:

I have a question amout box fill with wire nuts and pigtails. I have a 2 gang box with 12/2 coming in and two 12/3 wires going out. The box is for 2 switches. I was having problems getting 5 wires under one wire nut so I pigtailed them to another wire nut. So what it looks like in the box now:

-3 white wires under 1 wire nut
-3 green under 1 wire nut pigtailed (4 in total under the first wire nut) to another wire nut with 2 grounds running to each switch (so 3 in that wire nut)
- 3 blacks under 1 wire nut pigtailed (4 in total under the first wire nut) to another wire nut with 2 more wires running to eache switch

So there are 5 wire nuts in the box. This box is in a shallow wall and is only 25 cu. inch. Is this acceptable for box fill?


Here is a rough sketch of what it looks like:
Attached Thumbnails
Box fill and wire nuts-wirediagram.jpg  

zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:35 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


Your box is too small. For box fill you have 13 #12's x 2.25 cubic inches = 29.25.

Under the NEC pigtails and wire nuts do not count towards fill. Under the CEC wire nuts count towards fill.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Your box is too small. For box fill you have 13 #12's x 2.25 cubic inches = 29.25.

Under the NEC pigtails and wire nuts do not count towards fill. Under the CEC wire nuts count towards fill.

How did you get to 13 #12's? Any suggestions to fix this, again it is a shallow wall?

Last edited by zephed666; 05-02-2011 at 09:56 AM.
zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:02 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


one 12/2 = 2
two 12/3 = 6
ground =1
two switches = 4
total = 13, assuming you have no internal clamps.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
one 12/2 = 2
two 12/3 = 6
ground =1
two switches = 4
total = 13, assuming you have no internal clamps.
Again, how can I rememdy this in the shallow wall? Do they make a shallow 2 -gang box that is as wide as a 3 gang?
zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:16 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


How shallow is the wall? What is behind it? Is there a wall covering?
You may be able to use a 4" square box (metal) with a deep mud ring to gain enough room, or a three gang box with one space in the cover blanked.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:37 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
How shallow is the wall? What is behind it? Is there a wall covering?
You may be able to use a 4" square box (metal) with a deep mud ring to gain enough room, or a three gang box with one space in the cover blanked.

I was using an old work box since I didn't want to tear out a portion of the wall. The new work box I just picked up will fit and it is 32 cu. in. and states 14/12 wires on it. So I should be ok with the box fill now.

Is how I connected it in the diagram inpost 1 a problem? Or is it acceptable to use multiple pigtail and wire nuts since they son't fit under 1 nut?
zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 01:51 PM   #8
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Box fill and wire nuts


The multiple wirenuts is not a problem, but you could also use larger wirenuts (blue) or Wago-style pushin connectors that accept eight wires.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HouseHelper For This Useful Post:
zephed666 (05-02-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repairing broken wire secutanudu Electrical 15 04-20-2010 12:44 PM
Sub-Panel Wire Size and Conduit Questions Tmb9862 Electrical 3 12-03-2009 12:48 AM
Wire fill bobo60 Electrical 9 04-25-2009 08:42 PM
Running Wire Bocolo Electrical 11 01-24-2009 12:56 PM
Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch? mfleming Electrical 17 11-20-2008 09:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.