Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 01:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 67
Share |
Default

Box fill - just want to make sure my math is right?


Just want to make sure I understand this. I have 4 14/2 wires coming into a single gang box (22 cu), 1 switch and no cable clamps. I figured it to be right at 22 for box fill. Am I correct? 4 wires = 8 ground=1 switch=2 X 2 = 22. Is this right? Thanks for any help.

danreg99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:50 PM   #2
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

Box fill - just want to make sure my math is right?


yes, that is correct. the box is at its code approved maximum of 22 cu

kevin

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Box fill - just want to make sure my math is right?


Thanks Kevin, just wanted to make sure.
danreg99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:36 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,729
Default

Box fill - just want to make sure my math is right?


deleted.

I need to read better!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 06:28 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,439
Default

Box fill - just want to make sure my math is right?


Just clarify the terms you are using You have 4 CABLES with 8 WIRES + ground.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Box fill - just want to make sure my math is right?


why no cable (Romex) clamps?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 67
Default

Box fill - just want to make sure my math is right?


The plastic boxes that I have don't have any clamps. Wires are secured right after they leave the box.


Last edited by danreg99; 09-27-2012 at 09:09 AM.
danreg99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danreg99 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-27-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whistling toilet tank fill problem Need Advice Plumbing 6 01-16-2011 08:13 PM
Best way to make a roof exit or door? swaff Roofing/Siding 5 10-22-2010 01:15 PM
Best way to make 45 degree mitre jig BobS0327 Carpentry 7 09-21-2010 11:53 PM
ugh.... my kenmore washer won't fill with water! diy'er on LI Appliances 6 09-05-2010 07:28 PM
how to make waterfall with fake rocks ponch37300 Landscaping & Lawn Care 11 05-22-2009 01:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.