Box Fill Dilema - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 07:21 PM   #1
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,074
Rewards Points: 508
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Box fill dilema


What's my best option for a ceiling box for a smoke detector? I'm roughing-in wiring, right now I have 1 box that has 3 14/3 cables coming into it, and it looks like the only way I can run cable to my last box is to run a 4th 14/3 cable into the same box. The box I have right now is 25 cu. in. and I believe the calculations would say I need 32 in.

An extender would give be another what, 3 or 4 cu. in? not enough.

I could go to a 2-gang box that is 34 cu in. Would the smoke detector cover this, or how would I close this box and run a wire through the cover?

Or do I put up a second box nearby and run 3 cables into each box (24 cu in.)

Advertisement

WillK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:26 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Box fill dilema


You don't have another smoke detector box with only one or two cables in it?

Advertisement

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:45 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,011
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Box fill dilema


Put in a deep 4" square box and add a single gang plaster ring.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:05 PM   #4
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,074
Rewards Points: 508
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Box fill dilema


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
You don't have another smoke detector box with only one or two cables in it?
This particular box is the closest to everything on the first floor, on the first floor I'm putting in boxes for a first floor bedroom, a smoke detector outside the first floor bedroom and one near the kitchen. The second floor is gutted so I can run wires easy. The first floor is not gutted, and the options for connecting the first floor boxes are shortest by at least 10 feet per run by connecting at this one box on the second floor.

The first floor bedroom is also adjacent to the circuit box, so I'll be connecting power from that box. The power feed for the circuit can be 14/2, can it not?
WillK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:11 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Box fill dilema


14-2 fed from a 15 amp breaker is correct. IMO you are asking for years and years of false trips if you install a smoke detector near the kitchen.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:03 PM   #6
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,074
Rewards Points: 508
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Box fill dilema


For that one I have photoelectric. I have read things both that a smoke detector for a kitchen is asking for false trips and that it's a prudent choice. I'm putting it in knowing both sides, and I'm planning that if it becomes too much of a nuisance I'll just take it out and cap the wires in the box and cover it with a blank. I already have the first floor covered otherwise, so no code issues with taking it out if I have to.

Advertisement

WillK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to seal and fill sap veins before painting. fritzycat1 Painting 6 10-21-2009 12:13 AM
Slow toilet tank fill even with NEW fill valve? Zilla Plumbing 8 08-10-2009 10:37 PM
Would you spring to fill in your backyard? Piedmont Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-14-2009 09:14 PM
Building a shed, need help with pouring slab / fill ssybert Building & Construction 5 06-12-2008 07:19 AM
cinder bloc shed - fill or no fill ? amakarevic Building & Construction 3 04-16-2008 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts