Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 03:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Box fill calculation


I live in Ontario and I'm cleaning up the wiring in a room that was partially finished when we bought the house. I noticed the boxes where pretty full so I checked my friends code book and from my understanding the boxes are to small. There is one with a branch run which has 3 14/2 in a 12.5 ci box where as from my calculations I need 20 ci. 6 conductors, 1 clamp, 1 ground, and 2 for the device x 2 for the size of the conductor which equals 20 ci . So my question is, is my understanding of how to calculate box fill in ontario correct and was this acceptable in the old code. Should I be worried about the rest of the work the previous owner did?


Last edited by sketchy; 03-17-2011 at 07:44 AM.
sketchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 07:45 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Box fill calculation


Nothing?

sketchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:19 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Box fill calculation


I think Canada & the US use the same method for box fill, and 20 cubics is what I come up with too. Acceptable in the old code? Dunno. Which old code? The NEC started back in 1897. Worried about what the pervious owner did? You can answer that better than we can...but you've already found one 'oopsy'...would make me look further.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:49 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Box fill calculation


Ive looked at all of my switches and receptacles and they all seem undersized. I assume some are from the builder so that is why I question if I am calculating properly or if it was different 7 years ago.
sketchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:58 AM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Box fill calculation


I doubt if it was different 7 years ago.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 10:28 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 288
Default

Box fill calculation


My rule of thumb is I elevate it to high priority if I see any sort of browning of the insulation on the wires.
Sounds funny, but it's really fairly common to see wires with obvious signs of overheating.

Disclaimer: I am not saying it's ok to leave it as is if there are no signs of overheating.

michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to seal and fill sap veins before painting. fritzycat1 Painting 6 10-20-2009 11:13 PM
Would you spring to fill in your backyard? Piedmont Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-14-2009 08:14 PM
Box Fill Calculation SS396 Electrical 19 09-29-2008 09:19 PM
Building a shed, need help with pouring slab / fill ssybert Building & Construction 5 06-12-2008 06:19 AM
Load Calculation ? RM575 HVAC 9 07-04-2007 12:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.