Box Connectors Wire Project - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2008, 09:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

box connectors wire project


i'm doing a project wiring and using conduit (emt) and need to know what are the best type of box connectors to use to secure conduit to a box. how good are those snap ins compared to the ones with the lock nut. i heard about these other ones too that save space inside the box so you have more space to wire. anyone know about this kind of stuff or have any advice? thanks.

Advertisement

wildbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 12:10 PM   #2
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

box connectors wire project


Check out the following link: http://www.appletonelec.com/pdf/TW1thruTW2.pdf

Look at page 9 of the catalog (page 8 of the .PDF) for the 92TXXX box connectors. These are my favorite for several reasons.
  1. First, once you've installed it in the box and inserted the conduit, you simply tighten the nut. You don't have to worry about holding the body or a locknut with another pair of pliers to get it tightened.
  2. I find them easier to deal with in general since your wrench is always outside of the box.
  3. The connector's opening inside the box slightly overlaps the end wall of the pipe which seems to afford a little additional protection against wiring chaffing over a burr that was left on the pipe after cutting.
  4. It is much easier to install this type in adjacent KO's than the types that require a locknut inside the box.
Just my opinion/preference. On the other hand, I've only been able to purchase them at electrical supply houses, not the big box stores.

One last thing: Set screw and comp. fittings that attach with a locknut have a stop in them that is outside of the box. This Appleton connector allows the pipe to protrude into the box before bottoming out. That said, add a 1/4" to your pipe lengths to account for this.

Have fun,
Jimmy

Advertisement

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 11:19 PM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

box connectors wire project


Like a lot of things there is a connector for the purpose. The connectors that Jimmy referred to are 2 piece connectors. These are used when there are two fixed boxes that need a length of pipe between them. The boxes won't move and you'll bend and kink the pipe trying to wedge it in there with a standard connector. Set screw connectors are fine for normal use. Compression connectors for damp locations and concrete (and plenum ceilings in Chicago). Two piece connectors are a more expensive proposition than it sounds like you need.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 09:17 AM   #4
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

box connectors wire project


Quote:
Originally Posted by goose134 View Post
These are used when there are two fixed boxes that need a length of pipe between them. The boxes won't move and you'll bend and kink the pipe trying to wedge it in there with a standard connector.
Goose makes an excellent point here. You can put the locknut on the pipe and insert the pipe into the KO/box allowing you to install conduit easily between fixed boxes. In my house where the existing lumber is old growth pine, I find it much easier to install the boxes before running the pipe. This is certainly a feature of these connectors that makes this sequence of construction more feasible.

On the other hand, these connectors appear to be quite a bit more expensive than the SS/Comp. connectors that they sell at Home Depot (WTF happened to Steel City?? ).

Jimmy
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 03:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

box connectors wire project


thanks for the info, big help. i'm gonna head down to lowes on saturday and try to get this done before the game on sun. you think they should have what i need there? anything that i might need that i don't know i need?

next stop 19-0!
wildbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:16 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

box connectors wire project


Go Pats!
Nah, they'll have everything you'll need. If you need to fasten the pipe, pick up some one-hole straps for the size pipe you're using. Good luck!
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 09:41 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

box connectors wire project


thanks again fellas, i'll let you know how it goes.

Advertisement

wildbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 09:23 AM
Stove Top wire capt2 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 02:41 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts