Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 06:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 83
Share |
Wink

Box capacity question:


One, single pole light switch in plastic box with a capacity: 14 0 cubic inches, accepts up to 7/14.

All wire will be 14/2:

One power source in.
One through power wire for further outlets or switched lights.
One power out to two, paired on same switch, small halogen ceiling spot lights.

Thus far in projects, I've been able to use boxes definitely over capacity to avoid making a definite calculation on capacity. But I don't want to estimate on this one, it may be too close. (I've read numerous, but have never been able to find a clear cut explanation on how to calculate capacity.)

Is there enough capacity in this case?

DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 07:03 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,411
Default

Box capacity question:


You would have 6 conductors + 1 ground +2 for the switch = 9. That box is too small.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
DiegoJames (10-21-2011)
Old 10-21-2011, 07:49 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

Box capacity question:


A 14 cu/in box is tiny by today's standards.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
DiegoJames (10-21-2011)
Old 10-21-2011, 09:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 83
Default

Box capacity question:


Thank you. I will definitely make arrangements to work a larger box into the situation.
DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have any more electrical service capacity? (Power for Shed) Magnus357 Electrical 7 10-13-2012 08:52 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.