Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2011, 07:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 140
Share |
Default

bottom half of outlet has no power?


So we retextured the walls and painted and removed all outlets and switches. I marked the wires but I am having an issue with one outlet. It's not a switched outlet. There is (2) whites and (2) black and the ground wire. The top half has power and I confirmed power is at the outlet to the left of this one on the same wall. The black and white on the bottom daisy chain out and and supply power to the right side of wall but no power there??

I used the same outlet and when I removed the wires the first time I had to jam a small screw driver into the release tab to get the wire out. Perhaps I broke a connection? Any suggestions?

titan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 07:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Default

bottom half of outlet has no power?


new outlet?

Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 08:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 140
Default

bottom half of outlet has no power?


thats what I think I will do, but since it's dark I will do it tomorrow. On a side note, is it strange for a three way switch to not have a gound wire? I have switch upstairs and one down stairs that control the same hall light. There is only (2) blacks and a red wire. the black wires go to the top hole and middle hole, the red went to the bottom. Still can't get power here either.
titan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 08:39 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

bottom half of outlet has no power?


backstabbs are notorious for failure.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 08:44 PM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,616
Default

bottom half of outlet has no power?


You may have use an outlet that has the tab snapped off between the power screws---is this a used outlet?
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 10:05 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,534
Default

bottom half of outlet has no power?


The only way to have power to the top and not the bottom is to break the tab on one side. There is a tab between the screws on both sides. If one of them is broke off then one half will not have power.

Replace the receptacle with a new one that has the tabs. Do not use the push in connections. Use the screw connections.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 10:26 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

bottom half of outlet has no power?


It is not unheard of for the tab (there's one on the neutral or silver side also) to fracture partially. If that happens the usual thing to do is discard that receptacle unit and buy another. But for those who don't like to waste, you can cut two pigtails, attach one to each screw, and wire nut on the wire that used to be connected to one of the screws.

No, using one backstab hole will not work either (to power both receptacles) if the tab got fractured or removed.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary Power outlet on meter pedistal vtboy51 Electrical 2 12-02-2010 06:33 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Power outlet OneLittleBoy Electrical 19 03-28-2009 05:28 PM
kitchen outlet no power apt238 Electrical 27 08-25-2006 07:37 AM
Outlet and light pigtailed to power. ok? skellies Electrical 2 06-24-2006 01:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.