Both Black And Red Wire Hot At Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2011, 11:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Both black and red wire hot at switch


This is new wiring. I have 2 switches controlling 2 lights and an outlet at the end of one of the runs that should always be hot. The power source goes to the switches first and then on to the lights. I have 12-2 as the source. 12-2 running to the individual light. 12-3 between the switch and light and then 12-2 between this light and outlet.
The first light works fine. The 2nd switch has black from the source and red from the light. At the light the red connects to the black of the light, the white connects to the white of the light and the white of the 12-2 running to the outlet, and the black of the 12-3 connected to the black of the 12-2 of the outlet.

How is it possible that at the switch both the black and red are hot even when disconnected from the switch?

Advertisement

Doug60m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 11:33 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


How are you measuring that and with what test equipment?

Advertisement

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 03:37 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


You need to put a wiring diagram up showing how the circuit is wired, so that everyone can get a better understanding of what you are seeing.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


With a voltage detector/ tic tester
Doug60m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Diagram


I hope this helps
Attached Images
 
Doug60m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Try a multimeter and measure to neutral.

Last edited by Billy_Bob; 12-03-2011 at 08:03 PM.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Well, your diagram doesn't depict what you said.
What is the black of the 12-3 connected to at the switch?
jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:31 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,457
Rewards Points: 9,706
Blog Entries: 11
Default


To answer the original question, Are you using a digital meter? If you are then it is likely a phantom voltage.

The diagram is correct to have two switched lights and the receptacle that is not switched.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 09:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default


The black 12-3 at the switch is connected to the power source with a connector
Attached Images
 
Doug60m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 06:35 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fixed


Thanks to all for help. It was phantom voltage. Had a loose neutral.

Advertisement

Doug60m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1