Bosch Washer With A Leviton 15Amp 250V 2-Pole 3-Wire NEMA 6-15P - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 09:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bosch washer with a Leviton 15Amp 250V 2-Pole 3-Wire NEMA 6-15P


what changes to the machine can I do to be able to run this machine from a normal Canadian plug outlet. Can I just change the plug to a plug that fits into a Canadian step up transformer and just plug the machine into the step-up transformer and then plug the transformer into a Canadian 110v outlet?

Advertisement

outlandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:33 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

bosch washer with a Leviton 15Amp 250V 2-Pole 3-Wire NEMA 6-15P


What is the current rating on the machine? It probably requires too much power to operate from a 120V circuit, otherwise they wouldn't make it a 240V appliance.

Advertisement

mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 06:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bosch washer with a Leviton 15Amp 250V 2-Pole 3-Wire NEMA 6-15P


Thanks mpoulton, yes im aware that it will more than likely draw too much power, I was wondering if someone had a work around for it, something like a 2x 110v receptical adapter where it uses 2 110v outlets coming from the wall but leads to just 1, ( now a 220volt), outlet to plug the appliance into, of course the outlet would have to be wired to a higher wattage receptor on the house power board, but this solution is not reliable and is susceptible to dangerous outcomes.
But thanks anyways. By the way the washer is supposed to plug directly into the matching dryer which in turn plugs into a 240v dryer outlet, I just don't have the dryer lol.
outlandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 11:44 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 02:00 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Question: Is using 12/2 wire, ok on 15amp breaker/outlets? ehoez Electrical 3 07-14-2008 08:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts