Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2012, 01:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 85
Share |
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


A few loose ends to tie up before my inspection: I know I have to run a bonding wire across the gas meter the same size as my grounding wire but how does that tie into the panel? Does the ground wire on the furnace take care of that? If so why does the bonding wire have to be 4ga when the furnace is 12ga? On my water lines in I'm changing to PEX at the first coupler/connection where the galv pipe comes into the house, do I need to run a ground wire out to that pipe? From where? And lastly I ran 12-2 to my first smoke alarm and then 12-3 between the alarms... I haven't bought the alarms/detectors yet but I took a look at them at the store and they only have 3 wires without anywhere to hook the ground, can you help me out here? Thanks once again, 1

1dumbquestion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 01:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1dumbquestion
A few loose ends to tie up before my inspection: I know I have to run a bonding wire across the gas meter the same size as my grounding wire but how does that tie into the panel? Does the ground wire on the furnace take care of that? If so why does the bonding wire have to be 4ga when the furnace is 12ga? On my water lines in I'm changing to PEX at the first coupler/connection where the galv pipe comes into the house, do I need to run a ground wire out to that pipe? From where? And lastly I ran 12-2 to my first smoke alarm and then 12-3 between the alarms... I haven't bought the alarms/detectors yet but I took a look at them at the store and they only have 3 wires without anywhere to hook the ground, can you help me out here? Thanks once again, 1
Anything that your grounding should end up in the panel. Now as far as your water pipe coming in you must connect if any metal enters, if the pex starts a little after the meter you must use a jumper. I can't tell you about gas meter or furnace because I don't know what your talking about. And your smokes just connect the grounds in the box and leave them they don't get connected to the smoke.

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 01:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 85
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Anything that your grounding should end up in the panel. Now as far as your water pipe coming in you must connect if any metal enters, if the pex starts a little after the meter you must use a jumper. I can't tell you about gas meter or furnace because I don't know what your talking about. And your smokes just connect the grounds in the box and leave them they don't get connected to the smoke.

Ok, I'm one step closer now knowing what to do with the smokes, so on the stub of pipe that enters under the house I can just run a wire on a clamp from there staight to the ground bus on the panel? does it need to be 4ga? On the furnace/gas pipe I'm not sure what I'm talking about so I'm not at all surprised if I didn't make sense. Thanks, 1
1dumbquestion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 01:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1dumbquestion

Ok, I'm one step closer now knowing what to do with the smokes, so on the stub of pipe that enters under the house I can just run a wire on a clamp from there staight to the ground bus on the panel? does it need to be 4ga? On the furnace/gas pipe I'm not sure what I'm talking about so I'm not at all surprised if I didn't make sense. Thanks, 1
Correct proper clamp on one side and the grounding bus on the other.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 02:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 85
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Correct proper clamp on one side and the grounding bus on the other.
4ga? or can I use something smaller? 200A panel.
1dumbquestion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 02:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1dumbquestion

4ga? or can I use something smaller? 200A panel.
4guage
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 85
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
4guage
any negotiation on this one? I'd like to use say... 18ga but will be willing to go as high as maybe 12ga?
1dumbquestion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:30 PM   #8
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?




Lol...no, not negotiable. And no, you can't string a bunch of 18's or 12's together to make a #4 equivalent .
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-09-2012), Speedy Petey (01-09-2012)
Old 01-09-2012, 08:27 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

bonding water/gas pipe : smoke alarm ?


The gas pipe does not need additional bonding provided the furnace has a proper grounded circuit feeding it.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaking drain pipe under kitchen sink dethun Plumbing 20 09-26-2012 07:30 AM
Hard wired smoke alarm in NYS ADKstorm Electrical 12 04-30-2009 09:58 PM
Smoke alarm preference James Con Electrical 14 03-28-2008 09:31 AM
smoke alarm - ground wire Potomac101 Electrical 7 02-06-2008 07:25 AM
GFCI and Smoke alarm circuit issues 00u6166 Electrical 9 10-30-2007 02:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.