Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2012, 09:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Bonding Electrical Panel


My first post.
If you look at he attached picture. The home inspector saw that my panel needed bonding screws.
This is a SquareD panel installed in 1979.
I fixed the double tapped Neutrals.
This panel has an exact sister to it right next to this one.
I think this is the First and Main panel Because a Home Inspector only indicated this box was missing bonding screws.

- With that said.
Look at the Neutral Bar - All three bars are connected with a thick steel plate so no neutral or ground could be isolated....

Either way I have been looking up bonding and haven't got a real understanding. On placed looked like you only bond the main box. But the schematic showed the Neutral bonding bar in a sub-panel as isolated see the attached URL
http://www.diychatroom.com/attachmen...l-detached.jpg

To take a stab at it...
The bonding screw makes contact with the Panel Box Thus grounding it...
---Tangent question I don't understand what the big deal is... Ground/Neutral is Ground/Neutral no matter if you are in a Main or sub box... (Okay lay into me)..

First Question - Do I really need the bonding screw in my panel.
Sub Question - Can you point me to the reasoning to bond or not to bond?
Attached Images
 

folkda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Bonding Electrical Panel


The panel enclosure itself always needs to be bonded to ground simply in case a hot conductor touches it. That applies to all panels!! As to bond grounds and neutrals that only is allowed once at the main panel.

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:02 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Bonding Electrical Panel


Only one of those holes is needed for the box bonding screw, IF this is a service panel.

Service panel, by definition would be the first disconnect after the meter box. You said there was another panel next to this one. Does one feed-thru to the other? Or, are they both fed directly from the outside meter box?

An alternative to installing a bonding screw would be to install a grounding lug and bonding jumper wire from the neutral bar to the enclosure can.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 276
Default

Bonding Electrical Panel


Bonding Electrical Panel-imag0116.jpglooks similar to mine-trying to locate my bonding screw .did these older square d get installed with a different set up(nothing there at the open spot?)

Last edited by hidden1; 11-02-2012 at 11:46 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
Schedule 40 PVC in Chicago? franwalker Electrical 56 12-20-2011 10:04 PM
Home Electrical Panel Main thornton0715 Electrical 5 11-08-2011 08:59 AM
Electrical Panel - Ground Bar/Wiring and Safety cfreak Electrical 31 09-11-2011 08:10 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.